Selected Reference Materials for Engineering
Reference materials are resources that you would use if you're looking for a specific piece of information: a date, a biography, a measurement, a physical property, etc. Generally, they will be organized alphabetically or in another order that makes the information easy to find. Reference materials might include handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, or indexes.
Electronic resources
Electronic resources are accessible on and off campus. If you are off campus, you may be prompted to log in with a NetID.
Architects' Data by
An indispensable tool for the beginning stages of designing and planning a building project This new edition of a classic, bestselling text provides, in one concise volume, the essential information needed to form the framework for the more detailed design and development of any building project. Organized largely by building type, it covers planning criteria and considerations of function and siting--and with over 6200 diagrams, it provides a mass of data on spatial requirements. Most of the featured illustrations are dimensioned and each building type includes plans, sections, site layouts, and design details. The book also includes an extensive bibliography and detailed set of metric/imperial conversion tables. Architects' Data starts with the basics of designing for a new building project, before moving on to covering everything an architect needs to know. It also looks at the design styles and specifications for creating different types of structures, such as those made for residential, religious, cultural, sports, medical, and other types of occupation. Covers user requirements, planning criteria, basic dimensions, and considerations of function and siting Includes numerous examples and over 6200 illustrations and tables 5th English edition of the classic, international reference for architects Architects' Data is an excellent resource for architects, building surveyors, space planners, and design and build contractors everywhere.
Call Number: TH151 .N513 2019ISBN: 111928435XPublication Date: 2019-08-05
ASME Engineer's Data Book by
Intended for practicing mechanical engineers, this reference reviews basic engineering mathematics, units of measure and conversion, mechanical tolerances, mechanics, material failure limits, thermodynamics, machine components, production tools, and welding processes.
Call Number: TJ151 .M392 2005ISBN: 9780791802298Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Guide to Information Sources in Engineering by
The only source that focuses exclusively on engineering and technology, this important guide maps the dynamic and changing field of information sources published for engineers in recent years. Lord highlights basic perspectives, access tools, and English-language resources--directories, encyclopedias, yearbooks, dictionaries, databases, indexes, libraries, buyer's guides, Internet resources, and more. Substantial emphasis is placed on digital resources. The author also discusses how engineers and scientists use information, the culture and generation of scientific information, different types of engineering information, and the tools and resources you need to locate and access that material. Other sections describe regulations, standards and specifications, government resources, professional and trade associations, and education and career resources. Engineers, scientists, librarians, and other information professionals working with engineering and technology information will welcome this research
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780313009433Publication Date: 2000-08-15- Handbook of Electrical Engineering Calculations by 1. Electric Power Engineering / Arun G. Phadke -- 2. Electromagnetics / Edmund K. Miller -- 3. Algorithms Used in Signal Analysis / Hugh F. VanLandingham -- 4. Communication Systems / Timothy Pratt -- 5. Algorithms Used in Control Systems / Hugh F. VanLandingham -- 6. Computer Engineering / Peter Athanas and Yosef Tirat-Gefen.Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780585110097Publication Date: 1999-04-16
IMechE Engineers' Databook by
A completely revised and expanded fourth edition of this best-selling pocket guide. Engineers' Data Book provides a concise and useful source of up-to-date essential information for the student or practising engineer. Updated, expanded edition Easy to use Handy reference guide Core technical data
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 1119967953Publication Date: 2012-01-19
Mathematics for Electrical Engineering and Computing by
Mathematics for Electrical Engineering and Computing embraces many applications of modern mathematics, such as Boolean Algebra and Sets and Functions, and also teaches both discrete and continuous systems - particularly vital for Digital Signal Processing (DSP). In addition, as most modern engineers are required to study software, material suitable for Software Engineering - set theory, predicate and prepositional calculus, language and graph theory - is fully integrated into the book. Excessive technical detail and language are avoided, recognising that the real requirement for practising engineers is the need to understand the applications of mathematics in everyday engineering contexts. Emphasis is given to an appreciation of the fundamental concepts behind the mathematics, for problem solving and undertaking critical analysis of results, whether using a calculator or a computer. The text is backed up by numerous exercises and worked examples throughout, firmly rooted in engineering practice, ensuring that all mathematical theory introduced is directly relevant to real-world engineering. The book includes introductions to advanced topics such as Fourier analysis, vector calculus and random processes, also making this a suitable introductory text for second year undergraduates of electrical, electronic and computer engineering, undertaking engineering mathematics courses. Dr Attenborough is a former Senior Lecturer in the School of Electrical, Electronic and Information Engineering at South Bank University. She is currently Technical Director of The Webbery - Internet development company, Co. Donegal, Ireland. Fundamental principles of mathematics introduced and applied in engineering practice, reinforced through over 300 examples directly relevant to real-world engineering
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780080473406Publication Date: 2003-06-30
McGraw-Hill's Engineering Companion by
If YOU COULD BUY ONLY ONE DESKTOP REFERENCE- THIS WOULD BE IT Here are the tables, formulas, charts, diagrams, figures, key methods and worked-out problems engineers in design, product development, operation, production, analysis, and economic evaluation must have for successful day-to-day problem solving. This dynamic one-volume database provides reliable, ready-to-apply solutions to literally hundreds of engineering problems - formatted for convenient instant access and carefully culled from McGraw-Hill's most popular and respected handbooks, textbooks, and specialized technical books. McGraw-Hill's Engineering Companion contains sections on the basics of engineering science and key methods and tools in every branch of engineering: * mechanical engineering * civil engineering * electrical engineering * electronic engineering * metallurgical engineering * architectural and building engineering * bioengineeringeng * and more Covering all major engineering fields and extensively updated for maximum usability, this is the perfect working tool for today's new breed of engineer.
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780071416894Publication Date: 2003-01-01
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * Pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format
Call Number: View onlineISBN: 9780071417990Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Interlibrary Loan
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.245.4893 or email with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Other Catalogs
Google Books - Discover thousands of book titles here and see if we own them (note: Google Books does not let you read entire books)
Texshare - Check out a book from almost anywhere in Texas with one of these cards. Click for information.
Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries - built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.
Finding Books
What to know: Texas State Libraries have over 1.5 million items that can all be found within the online library catalog. The library catalog does NOT contain journal articles.
What you’ll learn: How to search the online catalog to find and use print books, ebooks, and audiobooks - no matter where they are in the library.
Why you should care: Books are a great source of research information (even background research!), so being able to locate them effectively will save you time.