LibGuides: ACC 5350: Professional Accounting Research: Suggested Databases

Suggested Databases

Accounting Databases

Audit Analytics
Detailed audit information on over 1,500 accounting firms & 20,000 publicly registered companies. Shows who is auditing whom & how much they are paying for what services. To access, users must first register for an an account here
Business Source Complete
Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
Texas State is permitted to use Harvard Business Review for course assignments.
Checkpoint: Accounting & Auditing
Accounting & auditing library, expert RIA analysis, FASB, GASB, AICPA, PCAOB, International Accounting Standards and more. Coverage dates vary. Simultaneous user limit varies by product, from 2 to 35.
Checkpoint: Tax & WGL Business Entity Treatise Library
Provides access to tax resources such as U.S. Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Coordinator and resources from Warren, Gorham, & Lamont (WGL). Simultaneous user limit is 20. Users must create an account each semester.
- If you have problems or do not receive the registration email within 30 minutes, call 5124083461.
- All user IDs will expire 45 days after the end of a semester.
- Do not mark Save Name/Password if accessing from a public computer and be sure to Sign Off after using.
- Mac users should not use Safari.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information.

Consider the features in Settings to make it work better with your research:

►Library Links - FindIt@TxState
►Bibliography Manager - set this EndNote (which is referring to the desktop version).

Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals, but this filter is not available in Google Scholar. Consult Ulrich's to find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed by searching the title of the journal.

LibKey Nomad

This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).

Browzine

BrowZine is an app available through Texas State University Libraries and allows you to browse academic journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.

Stay Current by creating a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new issue and new article notifications. Get access on your computer, mobile device, or phone. Download the app for or Apple and android devices.

Browse Accounting Journals