Finding Article Fulltext
- Browzine
You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper title using Browzine.
Databases automatically link you to the fulltext or offer the option to check to find a copy of your article, "Full Text Finder". Sometimes you'll see this option under Access Options:
Ways to Avoid Plagiarism
A Note about Plagiarism
It is important to cite your sources properly. If you want to learn more about avoiding plagiarism, read the Plagiarism Guide.
When you are writing your paper, you can use several ways to present information you have found in the body of your paper, and consciously avoid plagiarizing.
-
Direct quote
If you want to use a sentence or a passage exactly as it was written, you can include a direct quote, surrounded by quotation marks, and either using an inline citation, or a sentence before the quote referencing the author and work of origin.
-
Summary
You can also write a summary (in your own words of course) of the ideas or text you want to use. It helps to write the summary from your memory rather than looking directly at the passage.
-
Paraphrase
Paraphrasing is similar to a summary. It just means taking what you have read and rewriting it in your own words.
Chicago Manual of Style Links
- The Chicago Manual of Style Online
- See their Quick Guide for the basics
- See an example of an annotated bibliography
- Writer's Handbook Chicago
- Chicago Guide from NW Missouri with examples from different databases.
Copies of The Chicago manual of Style are also avaliable at the Alkek Library and the Music Library.
Citing images:
The basic elements needed for citing images are as follows:
- artist's name, if known
- title of image, if known
- date work was created
- if date is unknown, place n.d. were the date would go
- permanent owner or institution where the artwork is housed
- the location or city
Citing Images Chicago Style from Colgate Visual Resources Library
Dartmouth's Citing Images handout
See Quick Guide to Citing Images from Weill Cornell Medical College in Qatar
To see examples of how to cite images in MLA, see the An Image (Including a Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph) entry or the A Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph entry from Purdue's Online Writing Lab.
From The Chicago Manual of Style 16th edition
3.22 Formal titles in captions
More Chicago Style examples:
Examples of bibliography entries for manuscript collections:
https://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec230.html
Folios, page numbers, and such for manuscript collections:
https://www-chicagomanualofstyle-org.libproxy.txstate.edu/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec225.html
Numbered leaves, or folios:
https://www-chicagomanualofstyle-org.libproxy.txstate.edu/book/ed17/part3/ch14/psec155.html
Understanding a Journal Citation
You'll see something like this:
It's important to know the parts of a citation so you can interpret it correctly. You must have at least the Journal name, volume, issue, and page number to be able to locate the article.