LibGuides: Primary Resources: Websites & Archives

Primary Source Databases

The library subscribes to many databases containing primary sources. We've made a list of those databases so, check here for sources too.

The boxes below have general websites as well as some key collections in a few databases.

Great Websites to Search

Library of Congress-Searching For Primary Sources
Search LOC for primary materials. Also notice the guides near the bottom of the page for resources on specific topics
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. We do this by collaborating with partners to accelerate innovative tools and ideas that empower and equip libraries to make information more accessible.
We work with a national network of partners to:
Make millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.

Curated Collections on Websites

Library of Congress- Select from a curated set

Primary Source Sets – Each set collects primary sources on a specific frequently-taught topic, along with historical background information and teaching ideas.

Free to Use and Reuse Sets - Batches of primary sources on engaging topics.

Collections on HathiTrust
Make collections form the rich resources of Hathitrust OR use collections others have curated.
Primary Sources on JSTOR
JSTOR is building various collections of primary sources- more to come!