Skip to Main Content

Texas State Intensive English (TSIE): Databases/Articles

This research guide contains resources to support the Texas State Intensive English (TSIE) program.

Article & Database Terms Q&A

What is a research database?
A research database is a searchable collection of thousands of articles, often organized by subject.

What is a scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal is a scholarly publication with multiple articles that is often subject specific or has a specific audience.  Sometimes referred to as a periodical, because they are published at regularly occurring intervals. 

Research Databases Overview

Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.

  • Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles printed in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!
  • Databases can be searched by subject, title, and/or author
  • Many of the articles contain full-text, meaning that the actual article is available in the database, sometimes it is not and you have to look for it using our link source button, or the Periodical List, or you might even have to see if we have the print version of it available.

The library has over 500 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject.

Language Learning

The Alkek Library offers Language Learning Media material on the 3rd floor of the Library and Audiobooks on CD.

Language Testing Practice

TOEFL:  To practice your language skills, try our language databases that offer practice tests for the TOEFL.

LearningExpress
An interactive online learning platform featuring over 770 practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks including practice exams for the TOEFL. Also includes Computer skill tutorials, workplace skills improvement, US citizenship and more.

  • Click on College Admissions Test Preparation, then Prepare for the TOEFL iBT® and IELTS™ Tests
  • Under College Center Plus, you'll find modules for Grammar, Writing, and Reading Skills

IELTS:  Our Language Testing databases do not cover the IELTS but practice resources can be found on the web:

Self-access.com
Free practice exercises and helpful tips for the listening, reading, and writing sections of IELTS

IELTS Practice Test
Free practice tests for listening, reading, writing, and speaking sections of IELTS. The IELTS Band Score Calculator converts these test scores into IELTS Band scores.

British Council IELTS
Descriptions, tips, and practice tasks for listening, reading, writing, and speaking sections of IELTS

ELC IELTS Practice Tasks
Descriptions, tips, and practice tasks and tests for listening, reading, writing, and speaking sections of IELT.

BBC Language Learning