Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Digital Collections
American Memory Project (Library of Congress)
Historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress.
Diaries and Letters
Collection available from Hathi Trust database of full text Diaries and Letters from WWI
European History-Primary Sources
[WWW Virtual Library History] According to the site's information, it is "an index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe."
Stars and Stripes– covers 8 February 1918 through 13 June 1919. [Part of American Memory]
National Archives (UK)
Access a variety of digital collections covering the history of Great Britain during WWI, including unit diaries, army nurses, prisoners of war, royal navy & air force service, and podcasts of first-hand accounts of the war (Voices of the Armistice).
Veterans [Oral] History Project
From Library of Congress
Search to limit to WWI accounts
World War I Pamphlets
Collection of over 300 items from Hathi Trust collections
World War I Rotogravures (1914-1919
(newspaper pictorials) -- Includes an essay: the sinking of the Lusitania, 7 May 1915. [Part of American Memory]
World War Poster Archive
Collection of posters digitized by University of North Texas.
Both U.S. and French posters available.
War Museum of Canada
Canada and the first world war
Here are just a few of the many titles available
First World War A Documntary Record
Series 1. European war 1914-1919, the War Reserve Collection (WRA-WRE) from Cambridge University Library: pt. 1. The card catalogue and manuscript listings (reels 1-7) -- pt. 2. Trench journals, Personal narratives, and Reminiscences, WRA 458-WRE 17.302 (reels 8-27) -- pt. 3. Allied propaganda, WRA 35a. 301-WRE 35a. 328 (20 reels) -- pt. 4. German propaganda, WRA 35b. 301-WRE 35b. 314 (20 reels).
Local Note The print guides are shelved in the microforms area to be used with the microfilm.
The Origins of the First World War by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 D521 .C587 2008
Publication Date: 2013-07-15
Annika Mombauer's essential source reader translates, cross-references and annotates a vast range of international diplomatic and military documents on the origins of the First World War. It collects together newly discovered or not previously available in English, drawn from a broad range of sources and countries into a single, indispensable text for students and scholars alike.The volume includes a detailed scholarly introduction which analyses the most controversial issues in the debate on the origins of the War and provides a comprehensive overview of the history of document collections on the war's origins. The documents cover the period 1911–14, with particular emphasis on the July Crisis and immediate outbreak of war. Thoroughly cross-referenced and annotated, these fascinating sources are presented with authoritative commentary, enabling readers to make connections between the documents to illuminate how the decisions for war were taken, and why.This will be an invaluable resource for anyone studying or teaching the origins of the First World War.
World War I by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 D521 .C587 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Primary documents from the World War I era bring to life the causes, events and consequences of those tumultuous and violent years. Varied perspectives provide a valuable overview of the many and often complicated reactions by Americans to Pre-war European politics, Archduke Ferdinand's assassination, the sinking of the Lusitania by a German submarine, the major battles fought, and of the eventual and controversial entry into the war by the United States, among others. Will be a valued resource for researchers seeking to tap into contemporary attitudes toward events long gone.
- British Library: World War I
Supported by over 500 historical sources from across Europe, this resource examines key themes in the history of World War One. Explore a wealth of original source material, over 50 newly-commissioned articles written by historians, teachers' notes and more to discover how war affected people on different sides of the conflict.
- BBC History: World War I
Pictures, videos, and guides to many different aspects of the war, including effects on science, sports, the home front, and other topics.
- PBS: The Great War and the Shaping of the 20th Century
Interactive site with history, timelines, audio, and video.
- Taylor & Francis/Routledge Online: Remembering World War I
Taylor & Francis/Routledge, publishers of scholarly journals, books, ebooks and reference works, have made their World War I collection available free online until 2018.
- ABC (Australia) Centenary Site
The Australian perspective is presented on this site, with audio, video, photos, and archival letters. Includes a link to a special 3-D Documentary site on Gallipoli.
- Imperial War Museum WWI Centenary
This site offers photos, videos, and podcasts of participants in World War I. They have developed a Lives of the World War online exhibit.
- Western Front Association Centenary
The Western Front Association (WFA) is dedicated to remembering the First World War. The WFA was founded in the United Kingdom in 1980 and since that time has grown to include branches in Western Europe, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the United States. It is the aim of the WFA to further interest in the period 1914-1918 to perpetuate the memory, courage and comradeship of those of both sides who served their countries in The Great War.
- WWI Centennial Network: America Remembers the Great War
The World War I Centennial Network is a collaborative association of organizations, museums and historic sites in the United States related to the First World War. The goal of the Network is to further public awareness of the history and memory of The Great War (1914-1918) as we approach and experience its centenary years. To this end, the World War I Centennial Network fosters collaboration and cross-promotion of the special events, commemorations and exhibits created by its members.
- The Great War 1914-1918
This site provides an overview of the First World War battlefields on the Western Front by showing you where they are and what you can see there today. Established in 1998, the website is dedicated to the memory of 20 family members who served in the military during the Great War of 1914-1918.
- World War I Propaganda
The UNC School of Education has an online display of WWI propaganda posters.
- Smithsonian Magazine Landscapes
Even today, Europe's landscape still bears scars from battles. This series of photographs shows what the land looks like today.