Historians debate the Great War
One thing Historians love to do is debate any and all aspects of historical events. War has provided no shortage of opportunities for that.
While there are probably thousands of books giving opinion on the war, here is one good example providing both sides of the debate-
The library has a wonderful book series, History in Dispute which provides examples of historians debating many topics through many periods of history. These give great background, information on the crux of the debate, and suggestions for further research.
History in Dispute- V. 8 (World War I) by Call Number: E-Book [Also have print]ISBN: 9781558624146Publication Date: 2002
History in Dispute- Vol. 9 (World War I) by Call Number: E-Book [Also have print]ISBN: 9781558624481Publication Date: 2002
Finding Journal Articles and other resources online
The library has many databases dealing with historical topics. A full list of those database is avilable here The databases listed below are some good starting points for your research.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowHistory and social science. History of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages. All articles written 1955 or later.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- PAIS Index & Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Archive provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies and the International provides social science coverage, with emphasis on contemporary public issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Encompasses business, economic and social conditions, public policy, administration, and international relations.
Coverage 1914 to present
Format Some full text articles. Citations to books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, and reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations worldwide. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
