Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
War Poet Diaries Published Online
The diaries of war poet Siegfried Sassoon have published online for the first time.
The archive of 23 journals and two notebooks of poetry has been digitized by Cambridge University, which bought the collection in 2009.
Until now only Sassoon's official biographer - Max Egremont - has had access to the complete 4,100-page archive due to its fragile state.
Librarian Anne Jarvis said the war diaries were of "towering importance".
The journals, which are made freely available online, offer a unique insight into life on the front line during World War One.
Bibliographies of Personal Narratives
World War I Memories by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 D640.A2 L45 2004
Publication Date: 2004-06-25
This comprehensive annotated bibliography includes over 1,400 references to memoirs, diaries, and letters by soldiers and civilians from all belligerent nations during World War I. Key features include: Incisive commentary on each entry's value to historians, enthusiasts, and collectors Organization by country Introduction provides a reader's guide to the best World War I literature Indexes by title and subject allow searching by units, fronts, personal perspectives, and battles
The Canadian Experience of the Great War by
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Although the United States itself did not enter the war until April 1917, Canada enlisted the moment Great Britain engaged in the conflict in August of 1914. The Canadian contribution was great, as over 600,000 men and women came to serve in the war effort. Over 150,000 were wounded while near 67,000 gave their lives. The literature it generated, and continues to generate so many years later, is enormous and addresses all of its aspects. The Canadian Experience of the Great War: A Guide to Memoirs is the first attempt to identify all of the published accounts by Canadian veterans of their Great War experiences.