War Correspondents
- Times documentary history of the war (From Hathi Trust)“A collection of documents concerning the war in all its aspects, so arranged as to record the events of the great struggle on which the nations are now involved and the circumstances which led up to them”—Introd. [issued in weekly parts from Aug. 25, 1914-July 27, 1920]. 11 volumes in all.
diplomatic [v.1,2,9], naval [v.3,4,7], military [v.5,8], overseas [v.6, 10] - Nelson's History of the War (from Hathi Trust)Written by James Buchan
Published between 1915-1918 - Wipers Times (from Hathi Trust)Includes various trench newspapers
Portrait of War by Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 D570 .K73 2007ISBN: 9780471670230Publication Date: 2006-10-27Portrait of War tells the gripping true story of eight graphic artists recruited by the government and sent into combat to create a visual historical record of World War I. Featuring both their stunning illustrations and deep personal reflections, Portrait of War is a moving testament to the bravery of these artist-soldiers and the remarkable record of war they left behind.
Local News
- Facts or Propaganda? :a comparison of the newspapers of Seguin and New Braunfels, 1914-1917 byCall Number: Alkek General, Floor 5 AS36.T46 S3317Publication Date: 1988M.A. Thesis done at Texas State.
Useful Databases
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowTimes of London Digital Archive 1785-1985
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple newspaper archives back to the first issues. Includes complete issues of the New York Times (1851-2010), Washington Post (1877-1997), Los Angeles Times (1881-1990), Wall Street Journal (1889-1996), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2000), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1990).
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowPopular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America.
Coverage 1890 to 1982
- Chronicling AmericaSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- The Nation MagazineAvailable via "Points of View Reference Center" 1900-2010
Library also has print volumes for 1915 (Jan-June only) and for 1918-1973 - New Republic MagazineCoverage in "Points of View Reference Center" database include November 1914-present
- Harpers (from Periodical Archive Online)Search for Harpers within this database. Full text coverage
1860-2000 - Current HistoryTitle changed several times, full text coverage for war years via Periodicals Archive Online database.