Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Posters & Pictures
Rare photos found in antique Camera
8 pictures of the war in France were found in an old camera in 2013!
Collection of Recently Discovered Photos- London
From the Archive of Modern Conflict in London. A previously unpublished set of World War One images from a private collection. The photographs offer an unusual view of varied and contrasting aspects of the conflict, from high tech artillery to mobile pigeon lofts, and from officers partying in their headquarters to the grim reality of life and death in the trenches.
Digitized collection from Washington State University 1914-1945
World War I Posters
The Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Division makes available online approximately 1,900 posters created between 1914 and 1920. Most relate directly to the war, but some German posters date from the post-war period and illustrate events such as the rise of Bolshevism and Communism, the 1919 General Assembly election and various plebiscites.
The majority of the posters were printed in the United States. Posters from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, the Netherlands, and Russia are included as well. The posters range in style from anonymous broadsides (predominantly text) to graphically vibrant works by well-known designers. The Library acquired these posters through gift, purchase, and exchange or transfer from other government institutions, and continues to add to the collection.
Digitzed War Posters
From University of North Texas
From World War I French victory figures to grim views of the Nazi regime, these posters demonstrate the power of words and images. The collection is particularly strong in World War I French and American posters, and World War II American "home front" posters. War bonds, rationing, enlistment, security, and morale are all topics treated by these artworks. The collection includes posters by such famous artists as Norman Rockwell, Theodore Geisel (better known as Dr. Seuss), and Boris Artzybasheff.
Books @ Alkek
Below are listed a few titles from the Alkek collection.
More can be found by clicking on this link to the catalog
World War 1914 1918 Propaganda
French Posters from World War I: a checklist [on CD-Rom] by
Call Number: Gov Info, U.S. Documents, CD/DVD Cabinets, Floor 4 LC 1.54:P 84/CD
Publication Date: 1996
Database of 284 posters created by French artists to support the war effort during World War I. Organized by subject with detailed descriptions of each image. Includes thumbnail, zoom, bookmark, and print features.
Wake up, America! by
Call Number: Oversize Shelves, Floor 5 D522.25 .R38 1988
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
The War to End All Wars did not begin as a popular cause. Americans were reluctant to get involved in what they viewed as Europe's war and reelected Woodrow Wilson on his promise to keep this nation out of it. When war became inevitable, public opinion had to be turned around. To do this, the government mobilized the talents of an incredible cadre of artists to create pictorial publicity for all aspects of the war effort - from recruiting to war relief to food and fuel conservation. Artists of the calibre of James Montgomery Flagg, Howard Chandler Christy, Charles Dana Gibson, J.C. Leyendecker and N.C. Wyeth produced an impressive -even magnificent - body of art, yet all but a handful of these posters have been almost totally forgotten.
War Posters by
Call Number: Oversize Shelves, Floor 5 D522.25 .A94 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
A wide selection of the most eye-catching and iconic examples from the Imperial War Museum's internationally renowned poster collection. Published to accompany an exhibition at London's Imperial War Museum, this book features more than 250 superb full-color illustrations of hard-hitting propaganda and groundbreaking graphic art. It encompasses iconic images such as Alfred Leete's "Your Country Needs You" as well as additional material drawn from the world of advertising and documentary photographs of posters in situ. Through posters, the author examines the social, political, ethnic, and cultural aspirations of America, Britain, Ireland, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Russia, Austria, Hungary, and the Czech Republic. Covering topics as diverse as advertising in World War I, the Bolshevik Revolution, the Spanish Civil War, Germany and Occupied Europe in World War II, anti-nuclear campaigns, and Vietnam, the book is comprehensive and highly analytical, yet accessible. 300 illustrations, 250 in color.
The World's Greatest War Cartoonists, 1792-1945 by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 6 NC1763.W3 B79 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-19
'Nothing to touch the glory of the great cartoonists!...they teach the historians their trade' said the former Labor Party leader Michael Foot, a view also held by Winston Churchill. However, though many of the cartoons of international conflicts from the beginning of the Napoleonic Wars until the end of the Second World War have become iconic, very little is known about their creators. This book puts the record straight by assembling, for the first time in a single volume, brief biographies of 300 of the most significant international artists of the past two centuries who drew political cartoons and caricatures during wartime, not only in national newspapers and magazines but also in posters, prints and books. Artists from more than 30 countries - and working on both sides of the wars concerned - have been included, from Russia, Germany, Poland, Japan, Italy, Australia and Brazil to Czechoslovakia, Holland, Norway, Switzerland, France, the USA and Great Britain. Some of the names may be familiar - such as James Gillray, John Tenniel, Louis Raemaekers, David Low, Boris Efimov and Bill Mauldin - but many others appear here for the first time after decades of omission from histories of art and warfare. Conflicts covered include the Napoleonic Wars, Crimean War, Indian Mutiny, Opium Wars, Ashanti Wars, Zulu War, Afghan Wars, Wars in the Sudan, Boer War, Russian Revolution, Russo-Japanese War, Franco-Prussian War, First World War, Spanish Civil War and Second World War. Lavishly illustrated with more than 300 classic war cartoons in color and black-and-white, as well as portraits and self-portraits of the artists themselves, this essential source book also contains an introductory essay on the history of the political cartoonist in wartime.
Portrait of War by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 D570 .K73 2007
Publication Date: 2006-10-27
Portrait of War tells the gripping true story of eight graphic artists recruited by the government and sent into combat to create a visual historical record of World War I. Featuring both their stunning illustrations and deep personal reflections, Portrait of War is a moving testament to the bravery of these artist-soldiers and the remarkable record of war they left behind.
Propaganda Collection on Microfilm
This series on microfilm has several reels of propaganda-
First World War: A Documentary Record
Series 1. European war 1914-1919, the War Reserve Collection (WRA-WRE) from Cambridge University Library: pt. 1. The card catalogue and manuscript listings (reels 1-7) -- pt. 2. Trench journals, Personal narratives, and Reminiscences, WRA 458-WRE 17.302 (reels 8-27) -- pt. 3. Allied propaganda, WRA 35a. 301-WRE 35a. 328 (20 reels) -- pt. 4. German propaganda, WRA 35b. 301-WRE 35b. 314 (20 reels).
Local Note The print guides are shelved in the microforms area to be used with the microfilm.