RSS Feed of New Art & Design Titles!
Subject Specific Bibliographies of Resources at Alkek Library
- Fibers Books, Ebooks, and Videos at Alkek LibraryA list of fibers resources at Alkek Library with links to library catalog records.
- Fibers Resources at Alkek LibraryA bibliography of fibers books, current periodicals, and databases for finding articles at Alkek Library. No links to catalog records. Formatted in traditional bibliography style. Published fall 2010 by Tara Spies Smith.
- Printmaking Books and Videos at Alkek LibraryAn Excel sheet with titles, descriptions, and links to catalog records for printmaking books and videos at Alkek Library.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Log in to ILLiad to make an Interlibrary Loan request
Interlibrary Loan is a Library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own.
This service is free to Texas State students, faculty, and staff.
Typical turnaround for a book is 2 weeks. Turnaround time for articles
varies depending on format (hard copy or electronic) but averages 2 to
3 days.
Useful Reference Books
A Short Guide To Writing About Art by Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015, Ask Alkek Desk - Secured, Floor 2 (4-hr loan)ISBN: 0205708250This best-selling text has guided tens of thousands of art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
Finding Artists' Books
How to Search for Artists' Books, interesting formats or handmade, in the Library Catalog
 |
| Click on image to see details |
Then click on the first link that says Artists Books and you should see about 90 results (The page that this link lives on can also be an interesting page to explore what types of artists books we have). These are located in the general collection (open stacks), secured collections, and special collections. These will also include books about artists books or bookmaking. You could also do a keyword rather than subject search but they may not all be actual artists’ books.
To limit to only those in secured, you can click on Limit/Sort Search at the top of the page and choose Secured Collection in the Location selection box. You could also start a new catalog search change the Keyword drop down to Subject again then change the Search Entire Collection drop down to Special Collections and search with the keyword artists books again. This will show you all the artists books located in Special Collections.
Handouts for Finding Books
- Library catalog guide
- How to use the library catalog and locate books in the library by call number.
- Library Directory
- Floor information and call number map to find books
Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click on the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)
Finding Books, eBooks, and other library materials
Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.
| Subject | Call Number |
| Advertising | HF 5801-6182 |
| Aesthetics | BH |
| Architecture | NA |
| Art Encyclopedias | N1-9165 |
| Art General | NX |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Drawing & Illustration | NC |
| Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics | TR, NC, Z200 |
| Jewelry Making | TS, TT |
| Music | M |
| Painters & Painting | ND |
| Photography | TR |
| Printmaking | NE |
| Sculpture & Sculptors | NB |
