Useful Reference Books
A Short Guide To Writing About Art by Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015, Ask Alkek Desk - Secured, Floor 2 (4-hr loan)ISBN: 0205708250This best-selling text has guided tens of thousands of art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
St. James guide to Hispanic artists: profiles of Latino and Latin American artists by Call Number: N6538.H58 S7 2002 c.2, Oversize Shelves, 6th FloorISBN: 1558624708Publication Date: 2002This guide provides critical analysis of approximately 400 20th-century Hispanic artists from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Central and South America, and American artists of Spanish descent. Detailed entries typically include biographical information; a list of individual exhibitions and a select list of group exhibitions; lists of museums and public galleries holding works by a given artist in their permanent collections; publications by and about the artist; a statement by the artist about his/her work (as available); and more.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Log in to ILLiad to make an Interlibrary Loan request
Interlibrary Loan is a Library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own.
This service is free to Texas State students, faculty, and staff.
Typical turnaround for a book is 2 weeks. Turnaround time for articles
varies depending on format (hard copy or electronic) but averages 2 to
3 days.
Alkek Library Book Catalog
Search the library catalog for print resources, ebooks, movies, and more!
TIPS:
- Click on the title to see subject headings (if you're having trouble with keywords)
- Use truncation, for example if searching for political or politics, you can type polit* and get any form of the root word before the *
Best Subject Headings for your class
For your class these will be the best subject headings to get you started looking for books in the library on your topics. Once you get a list of books from one of the subject headings listed below, you will see a common call number area for that subject and can go to it to browse for more books about the same topic or subject. This page of subject headings will give you a good way to look over the different narrower subjects we have on the subject of Spanish Colonial Art as well as give you ideas for good keyword searches in the library catalog or in library research databases:
- Art, Latin American
- Art Spanish Colonial Latin America
- Art Spanish Colonial Latin America Catalogs
- Art Spanish Colonial Latin America History 18th Century Exhibitions
- Art Spanish Colonial Latin America Themes Motives Exhibitions
- Art Spanish Colonial Mexico
- Art Spanish Colonial Mexico Catalogs
- Art, Spanish colonial -- Peru.
- Painting, Colonial -- Latin America.
- Painting, Colonial -- Mexico.
- Painting, Colonial -- Peru.
Other Useful Subject Headings and Call Number Areas
| Subject | Call Number |
| Advertising | HF 5801-6182 |
| Aesthetics | BH |
| Architecture | NA |
| Art Encyclopedias | N1-9165 |
| Art General | NX |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Drawing & Illustration | NC |
| Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics | TR, NC, Z200 |
| Jewelry Making | TS, TT |
| Music | M |
| Painters & Painting | ND |
| Photography | TR |
| Printmaking | NE |
| Sculpture & Sculptors | NB |
Finding Exhibition Catalogs
Revelaciones by Call Number: N6502 .A7818 2007, Oversize Shelves, 6th FloorISBN: 9789681684280Publication Date: 2007
All exhibition catalogs are not kept in one place on any floor.
Try a search in the library catalog for the topic word, such as music, art, an artist's name, photography, history or a historical or cultural event with the word "and" and the word "exhibition". You don’t need the word “catalog” unless you really want to limit the results because there are some items with “catalog” in the subject heading. Using just the word “exhibition” will get you a lot more results as it is a more common subject heading with another subject. For example, searching the library catalog for "music and exhibition" will get you over 100 results which you could narrow down to just under 100 and only books that you can check out by limiting to Alkek General Collection. If you add the word "catalog" it narrows it down to under 30 so you may be missing some good ones by addiing the word "catalog".
You can also try these searches if you want more art museum related results: museum catalog exhibition OR art exhibition catalog OR "exhibition catalog". General call number areas for browsing include the regular size and Oversize Ns for art on the 6th floor, as well as the TRs for photography on the 7th floor. But for other subject are:as such as culture, history, music, etc., you will want to use the library catalog or use our Ask a Librarian service. See map below for call number locations. Not all exhibition catalogs are browsable on the shelves. Some are in Secured Collections or Special Collections. You can ask to see these if you find one that looks interesting to you while doing a catalog search. If you have any questions please contact the Art & Design Librarian Tara Smith.
For this exhibition catalog I did a keyword search for Art Spanish colonial and exhibitions.
Handouts for Finding Books
- Library catalog guide
- How to use the library catalog and locate books in the library by call number.
- Library Directory
- Floor information and call number map to find books
Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click on the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)
