Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5360: American Historiography: Articles

Finding Newspaper Articles

The Library subscribes to the full text of several historic newspapers online.  These are a treasure trove of primary source material for various events.

 

Bibliography Mining

If someone has already done research on a topic you are investigating you are encouraged to seek out the same sources. Sometimes you may find an abundant amount of material that wasn't important to them, but is perfect for you. Other times you may find you disagree with their interpretation, which will give you something to write about from a fresh perspective. 

Theses and dissertations are a great place to find bibliographies (sometimes called literature reviews)  Many can be found in this database-

Finding journal articles and documents online

The library has many databases dealing with historical topics. A full list of those database is avilable here The databases listed below are some good starting points for your research. 

We also have a separate list of Primary Souces-Historical.  This pulls together a list of databases (like newspapers and other documents) that are mostly primary sources. 

Some key journals for research

Below are list of just a few journals in the study of  American history.  To find out what is in these journals, using one of the databases listed in the box above is the best approach.  Most databases also allow for limiting of searches to within specific journals so, adding a journal title to you search may help narrow your results. 

 American Historical Review

Journal of American History

Journal of Southern History

New England Quarterly

William & Mary Quarterly 

These are just a few of the thousands of journals we have access to via the Alkek Library.  you may check the Periodical List  by the title of any  journal to determine what access we have to that title.