About this page
This page contains information about how to search for published journal articles, as well as other sources contained in databases. You can also find several in-depth lists of suggested databases, including core resources in Communication Studies and other resources to support your presentations.
General databases
These multi-disciplinary databases pull together content from a variety of subjects and usually contain a lot of full-text articles. This is a great place to start your research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal.
- Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. 1983-present.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. 1890 to 1982
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to Wiley and Blackwell journals and over 22,000 ebooks. 1997 to present, with select journal titles going back further to volume 1.
- Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database appropriate for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. Indexing 1982 to present, full text 1994 to present
Suggested databases for Philosophy
These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Research Databases and then under the Philosophy databases on that page. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password.
- Academic Video Online: PremiumComprehensive video collection covering American History, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Asian Film, Black Studies, Business & Economics, Counseling & Therapy, Criminal Justice & Public Safety, Current Affairs, Dance, Education, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Ethnography, Fashion Studies, Film Studies, Gay & Lesbian Studies, Global Business & Economics, Health, Humanities, Music, Opera, Philosophy, Psychology, Rehabilitation Therapy, Religion & Science, Sports Medicine & Exercise Science, Theatre, Women's & Gender Studies, World History, and World Languages & Literature. Also included are special collections for "The March of Time" and "Meet the Press."
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextCurrent social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.
- Points of View Reference CenterPoints of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview/objective background , point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more. Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including 600 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments and writing position papers.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new windowThis database combines content from Thomson Gale's 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century US Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Making of the Modern World :The Goldsmiths’-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850; and the Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
Periodical List
- Periodical List
You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper title using Periodical List.
LinkSource checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (for Desktop EndNote)
***For EndNote Web, under Downloads, use Capture Reference.
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed , check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library research databases accessible allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.