Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 4323: Art History Thesis I: Articles & Databases

A course guide to library research resources for Prof. Stob's Art History Thesis I students

Reference Databases

Credo Reference  Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information. Has images and concept map too. See the tutorial below and more info about Credo Reference below.

E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library full list of our e-reference resources: full-text subject encyclopedias and dictionaries

Grove Art Online

Oxford Reference Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information

Periodical List

You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using Periodical List

Google Scholar Search

NOTE! This will only give you access to scholarly articles that Alkek Library subscribes to if you are on campus! If you are off campus and want to use Google Scholar to search far articles that we have access to please use the library's Google Scholar proxy link which is located on the list of G databases on the Research Databases page

Google Scholar Search

Suggested Art & Design Databases for Finding Articles & Images

Start Your Research tool It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.

Library homepage Start Your Research Box

Art and Design Databases

These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles. Also refer to the Library's Image Collections resources. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images.

Anthropology Databases

You may want to check the library's anthropology databases too. Here are a couple that might be useful. The second one is citations to articles only. You can use the periodical list to search and see if we have the journal the article appears in if you think it is something you need for your research. 

Communication Studies Databases

Communication Studies Databases could also be another good source for articles since they can cover visual communication theories.

Primary Source Databases

You could also check out our newspaper databases, especially the historical ones, for good resources on art. Newspaper articles from the time period of the work of art can be considered a primary source material.

Other Databases

Research RSS Feeds

Learn how to set up custom RSS feeds for articles related to research on your topic from different databases.

Understanding a Journal Citation

You'll see something like this:

It's important to know the parts of a citation so you can interpret it correctly. You must have at least the Journal name, volume, issue, and page number to be able to locate the article.

Finding Articles When You Have a Citation

Research, Instruction & Outreach Librarian