Toy Collection
- Alkek Library Toy CollectionHoused on the 3rd floor, the material can be checked out and renewed if needed. The collection is comprised of material appropriate for sand tray/play therapy.
Games Collection
- Alkek Library Games CollectionHoused on the 3rd floor, many of the games cover the content areas but some are also leisure games. Other related games, not pictured below, include - Star power, Dixit, First Impressions, Mountaineering, Ogres & Elves, Let's Make Pizza, Ungame.
Bibliotherapy
- Play TherapyProfessional resources related to bibliotherapy and play therapy can be found in the General Collection on floors 5 and 6.
- Juvenile BibliotherapyMany juvenile bibliotherapy titles can be pulled up via the Library Catalog. Other titles may not say they are "bibliotherapy for children" but may in fact work well for a child in a specific situation or dealing with certain issues.
Juvenile Collection
Juvenile Books on Disabilities, also search by specific disability. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources. Books recognized by the following award may also be helpful:
Dolly Gray Children's Literature Award | @TXST-UL was initiated in 2000 to recognize authors, illustrators, and publishers of high quality fictional and biographical children, intermediate, and young adult books that appropriately portray individuals with developmental disabilities.
Schneider Family Award | @TXST-UL honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
Juvenile Books on Pet Loss, also search by specific disability. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books recognized by the following Animal-related awards may also be helpful:
Animal Behavior Society's Outstanding Children's Book Award
ASPCA Henry Bergh Children's Book Award
Books Immigrants/Immigration. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books about Illness. Also search by specific illness, like "multiple sclerosis". Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books about wearing glasses. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books about Abuse. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books about Mindfulness/Meditation/Relaxation/Yoga.
Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books on Divorce/Remarriage/Stepfamilies. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books about death/bereavement/grief. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books about Moving. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books. Consult CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Related Guide: Juvenile Literature
Books about Incarcerated Parents. CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Related Guide: Juvenile Literature
Books on Self-Acceptance/Self-Realization. CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Related Guide: Juvenile Literature
Books related to LGBTQIA. CLCD or PBD databases for additional resources.
Books recognized by the following awards may also be helpful:
Lambda Literary Award | @TXST-UL, also known as "The Lammys", identifies and celebrates the best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books of the year and affirm that LGBT stories are part of the literature of the world.
Rainbow Books | @TXST-UL ALA GLBTRT Rainbow Project Book Lists recognize current quality non-fiction and fiction books that authentically express gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experiences.
Stonewall | @TXST-UL Sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table, honors books of exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.