Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Books Written by Mahatma Gandhi
Search the online catalog for Gandhi as an AUTHOR for works he wrote. Below are just a few key works-
Mahatma Gandhi: A Descriptive Bibliography by
Call Number: 6th floor Z 8322.7 .S48 1968
Publication Date: 1968 [2nd Edition]
This print volume contains both the original bibliography of works [covers publications by/about Gandhi up to May, 1954] and the update [publications from May, 1954-January, 1968]
See link below for access to online 1955 edition of this work.
Mahatma Gandhi: A Descriptive Bibilography
This link is to the original bibliography from 1955. It is available online in full PDF via our Hathi Trust database membership.
Download requires clicking on the "Partner login" link and choosing Texas State from the list of partners.
Collected works of Mahatma Gandhi. by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 DS481.G3 A2 1960
Publication Date: 1960
Official Government Edition, 100 volumes
These cannot be checked out but, used in library and scanned/copied as needed.
Hind swaraj and other writings by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 DS480.45 .G242 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Also available as ebook via the library catalog
Selected Political Writings by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 DS481.G3 A25 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Based on the complete edition of his works, this new volume presents Gandhi's most important political writings arranged around the two central themes of his political teachings: satyagraha (the power of non-violence) and swaraj (freedom). Dennis Dalton's general Introduction and headnotes highlight the life of Gandhi, set the readings in historical context, and provide insight into the conceptual framework of Gandhi's political theory. Included are bibliography, glossary, and index.
The Penguin Gandhi Reader by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 DS481.G3 A25 1993
Publication Date: 1995
"With this rich and interesting ensemble of essays, we finally have a handy sourcebook of Gandhi's writings."The Journal of Asian Studies.
The Moral and Political Writings of Mahatma Gandhi by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 DS481.G3 A2 1986
Publication Date: 1987-01-01
Although Gandhi's books were few, his innumerable articles and extensive correspondence eventually filled the pages of his ninety-volumeCollected Works, published by the Indian Government after his death. Drawn from theCollected Works, this second of three volumes presents Gandhi's seminal writings in a coherent and compact form. Volume II, which brings together Gandhi's most important writings on truth, non-violence, and human nature, offers readers a fuller and more discerning appreciation of this great man's contribution to 20th-century thought.
An Autobiography by
Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 DS481.G3 A3 1993
Publication Date: 1993-11-01
Mohandas K. Gandhi is one of the most inspiring figures of our time. In his classic autobiography he recounts the story of his life and how he developed his concept of active nonviolent resistance, which propelled the Indian struggle for independence and countless other nonviolent struggles of the twentieth century. In a new foreword, noted peace expert and teacher Sissela Bok urges us to adopt Gandhi's "attitude of experimenting, of tesing what will and will not bear close scrutiny, what can and cannot be adapted to new circumstances,"in order to bring about change in our own lives and communities.