Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 4320B: Curatorial Practices: Articles & Databases

A course guide to library research resources for Prof. Dawkins' art history students in Curatorial Practice

Reference Databases

Credo Reference  Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information. Has images and concept map too. See the tutorial below and more info about Credo Reference below.

E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library full list of our e-reference resources: full-text subject encyclopedias and dictionaries

Grove Art Online

Oxford Reference Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information

Periodical List

You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using Periodical List

Suggested Art & Design Databases for Finding Articles & Images

Try searching our Start Your Research tool! It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials like images!

After you do an intial search in the box pictured below, look to the right to see related images. Under the Refine Your Results drop down on the left, click Show More to select Image Quick View Type, at the bottom of the refine search pop-up page. Please ask for help with this new tool if you need it!

Check the Databases list for more database descriptions and subject areas.

Art and Design Databases

These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles. 

 

Anthropology Databases

You may want to check the library's anthropology databases too. Here are a couple that might be useful. The second one is citations to articles only. You can use the periodical list to search and see if we have the journal the article appears in if you think it is something you need for your research. 

History & Primary Source Databases

You can check out the list of all the library's History Databases but here is list of a few I thought might be useful for your class. Some of these contain Primary Sources.  See the whole list of Primary Source databases:

Other Possible Useful Databases