A Note About Database Access
Only persons with a valid netid at Texas State University may use databases listed on this guide remotely, unless otherwise noted below.
Guest users must be onsite to access these resources.
Databases of Primary Sources
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices covering early events in Afganistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria. 1839-1969.
- Foreign Broadcasts Information ServiceFBIS is the United States’ principal record of political and historical open source intelligence. Many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.
Coverage September 4, 1941 through March 29, 1974
Format Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English
- Churchill Archive This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection of Winston S. Churchill's personal correspondence and official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders. 1874-1965.
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Many popular newspapers, dating back as far as the 19th century. Includes Black Historical Newspapers. Access for each paper begins with the first issue published, end dates are varied and evolving.
- Perry-Casteneda Library Map CollectionMore than 250,000 map images from the PCL printed collection and numerous links to authoritative map sites.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 This link opens in a new windowGreat source for international perspectives on events
- WorldCat (public version) This link opens in a new windowIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan. For more search options, use WorldCat on FirstSearch.
This resource is available to anyone with internet access
League of Nations Materials 1919-1946
- League of Nations documents and publications, 1919-1946. Permanent Mandates Commission and related documents. byCall Number: JZ4935 .L44 1919Consists of materials generated by Permanent Mandates Commission; a commission which supervised division and administration of various colonies after WWI.
See additional notes below
Print Guide to set is located under the call# above on the 5th floor of the Alkek library.
Details of microfilm-
Languages-English or French.
This microfilm is stored off-site and requires acclimatization to room temperature before use. Please request in advance via the online catalog and allow 24-72 hours before availability.
Note: Staff at the UN have undertaken a massive project to digitize the materials available now on microfilm noted above.
The project is not complete. Please see link above for details from the UN.
ArchiveGrid
- ArchivegridArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
This resource is available to anyone with internet access