It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ARTC 3320: Typography II: Images
A research course guide to library resources for Typography II students.
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. The Archive is licensed for educational use.
Coverage: Photographs - 1826 to present, audio clips - from the 1920’s to present, news stories - from 1997 to present.
Images of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art & architecture photographed by the Allan T. Kohl, who consents to their use in any application that is both educational and non-commercial in nature.
Coverage: Dates vary.
Visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts, & photography. Includes topics from prehistory to the present. Biographies for art dealers, artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, collectors, printers and publishers. Online equivalent of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 volumes), the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, information about art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, renowned works of art, archaeological sites and stylistic developments.
Art. Includes creation, presentation, discussion & preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways. Features ArtBase, an archive of new media art including some 2500 projects, discussion and critical writing posts from 1996 to present. Users may set up individual accounts at the site to subscribe to Rhizome's email lists, browse recently added content, post to rhizome discussion lists, & submit projects to ArtBase.
Online portfolio of Brtitish visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images. Offers teaching resources based around the VADS image collections, browsing by collection, or by the themes of applied arts, architecture, design, fine art, and media.
Over 100,000 images free for non-profit educational purposes. The images are searchable by art form, style, nationality, city/site, historical era, material, technique or medium. You can also browse the images by continent and topic, or by subject (“portfolio”). Global coverage & includes all areas of visual imagery.
You can also check the library catalog for art books with images. Just use the keyword for the type of image you want and an abbreviation like ill or illus for illustration. Example: birds and ill or type in birds and illus. Other words for finding images that you can use in catalog searches are pictoral works, illustration, or "___ in art", for example "flowers in art".
"Visual communication", “advertising,” and “marketing” are subject headings that can have image books. For example, if you do a keyword search using "advertising and annual” you will see all the titles we have that are advertising awarded images and campaigns (Annual Clio, National Addy, Graphis, Art Director's Annual, Photo Annual, Major marketing campaigns annual). If you look under the subject heading “Advertising Campaign – Periodicals”, you will see others.