Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 3328: Communication and Gender: Articles & Databases

A course guide to library research resources for Prof. Eger's Communication and Gender students.

How to Find Articles Using Databases

The How to Find Articles Guide will help you navigate library research databases including the Start Your Research system (the white search box on the library home page).

Using Start Your Research to Find Articles & Books

What's Link Source?

LinkSource checks our other database to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases.

Sometimes you'll see this image:

Periodical List

You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using Periodical List

Where to Search

Research Databases

The library subscribes to over 400 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. This is different than searching the world wide web since these are subscribed to by the library. You have access to them on campus and off campus with your NetID and password. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Ues the alphabet at the top of the Research Databases page to choose a database by its name.

You can find all different types of periodical articles in our research databases - scholarly peer reviewed or "refereed" journal, newspaper, magazine, etc. There is usually a way to limit to Peer Reviewed or "refereed" articles only.

For specific types of articles or resources such as Newspapers, Film Reviews, or Timelines/Chronologies use the By Type drop down menu on the Research Databases page.

 

 Start Your Research searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.


Library homepage Start Your Research Box

Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject.

Databases by Subject

Communication And Journalism Databases

Look at the list of Communication And Journalism Databases for information about topics such as family communication.

Or you can try these Multi-Subject if your topic covers different subjects or is cross disciplinary. These are similar to Start Your Research but don't search the library catalog. 

 

Dissertations & Theses can also help you find in depth context and perspective on an issue.

WorldCat

  • Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and parts of the world. Shows which items we own. Direct link to request items we don't own via interlibrary loan.

Research, Instruction, and Outreach Librarian