Article & Database Terms Q&A
What is a research database?
A research database is a searchable collection of thousands of articles, often organized by subject.
What is a scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal is a scholarly publication with multiple articles that is often subject specific or has a specific audience. Sometimes referred to as a periodical, because they are published at regularly occurring intervals.
Research Databases Overview
Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.
- Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles printed in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!
- Databases can be searched by subject, title, and/or author
- Many of the articles contain full-text, meaning that the actual article is available in the database, sometimes it is not and you have to look for it using our link source button, or the Periodical List, or you might even have to see if we have the print version of it available.
The library has over 500 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject.
Finding Article Fulltext
- Browzine
You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper title using Browzine.
Databases automatically link you to the fulltext or offer the option to check to find a copy of your article, "Full Text Finder". Sometimes you'll see this option under Access Options:
Biography Databases
- American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical portraits of thousands of American men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the nation. 1450 to present. Access is limited to one user at a time.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Information about people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. Dates vary.
What is the Periodical List?
Not every database contains the full text of every article. However, you may be able to find the full text in another of the library's databases. To find out where you can find a particular periodical online or in print, use the Periodical List.
(click on the image to see a larger version)
Suggested Websites
- HEARTHHEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.
- Kappa Omicron Nu - National Honor Society for the Human SciencesKappa Omicron Nu was formed with the express purpose of recognizing and rewarding superior scholarship in the human sciences. Recognition, however, is merely the first step in a lifelong journey we take with our members.
KON is committed to partnering with each member to enhance learning for a lifetime. The resources in this section offer opportunities for students and professionals to develop new skills or to clarify and focus an existing skill set.
Newspapers
- Austin American Statesman- Historical This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the major daily newspaper for Austin, the capital city of Texas. 1871-
- NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new windowThousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.
The following newspapers can be accessed through Newspaper Source Plus:
Austin-American Stateman
Dallas Morning News
New York Times
Washington Post
Suggested Databases
- Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920 This link opens in a new window
Historical material revealing early American home life from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, Duke University and the New York Public Library.
- Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
Reports by advertising agencies in a booming era for consumerism. Includes the complete reports of Ernest Dichter, the eras foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present