Article & Database Terms Q&A
What is a research database?
A research database is a searchable collection of thousands of articles, often organized by subject.
What is a scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal is a scholarly publication with multiple articles that is often subject specific or has a specific audience. Sometimes referred to as a periodical, because they are published at regularly occurring intervals.
Research Databases Overview
Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.
- Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles printed in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!
- Databases can be searched by subject, title, and/or author
- Many of the articles contain full-text, meaning that the actual article is available in the database, sometimes it is not and you have to look for it using our link source button, or the Periodical List, or you might even have to see if we have the print version of it available.
The library has over 500 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject.
What is Full Text Finder?
Full Text Finder searches all of the library's databases to see if the full text is available anywhere else. If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:
- Check Periodicals on the library homepage. The library may have a print copy.
- If not, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan for free.
Commonly Used Databases - Multi Subject
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal.
Commonly Used Databases - Pro/Con Issues & Hot Topics
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowReports with overviews, background and timeline of a topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from opposing positions. Topics include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. 1923 to present.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowCurrent social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.
What is the Periodical List?
Not every database contains the full text of every article. However, you may be able to find the full text in another of the library's databases. To find out where you can find a particular periodical online or in print, use the Periodical List.
(click on the image to see a larger version)
