Subject Guide
Useful Reference Books
-
A Short Guide To Writing About Art
by
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015 Alkek Ask Alkek Desk - 2nd FloorISBN: 0205708250This best-selling text has guided tens of thousands of art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
Subject Specific Bibliographies of Resources at Alkek Library
-
Fibers Books, Ebooks, and Videos at Alkek LibraryA list of fibers resources at Alkek Library with links to library catalog records.
-
Fibers Resources at Alkek LibraryA bibliography of fibers books, current periodicals, and databases for finding articles at Alkek Library. No links to catalog records. Formatted in traditional bibliography style. Published fall 2010 by Tara Spies Smith.
-
Printmaking Books and Videos at Alkek LibraryAn Excel sheet with titles, descriptions, and links to catalog records for printmaking books and videos at Alkek Library.
| Interlibrary Loan |
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408-3996 or email with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
Other Catalogs
-
TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.
-
WorldCat (public version) This link opens in a new window
Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
Search for Books & More in the Library:
-
Library CatalogUse the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Catalog also provides location and availability details. Use "Quotation marks" when searching a phrase.
-
Start Your ResearchBooks, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting on the left to Library Catalog after a search is run.
You can use the Alkek Floor Plans to see the call number areas on the 5th and 6th floors where all the books are shelved by subject area. You can also browse the shelves for discovering even more books about your subject and other subjects. Have fun browsing!
A video to help you understand how to find the books by call number.
Using the Library Catalog - Finding Books, eBooks, and other library materials
Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.
| Subject | Call Number |
| Advertising | HF 5801-6182 |
| Aesthetics | BH |
| Architecture | NA |
| Art Encyclopedias | N1-9165 |
| Art General | NX |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Drawing & Illustration | NC |
| Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics | TR, NC, Z200 |
| Jewelry Making | TS, TT |
| Music | M |
| Painters & Painting | ND |
| Photography | TR |
| Printmaking | NE |
| Sculpture & Sculptors | NB |
Handouts for Finding Books
Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)
Finding Exhibition Catalogs
-
Desires and Disguises
by
Call Number: N6494.E6 Y47 2013ISBN: 1852422807Publication Date: 1993-06-01
Watch this short video to learn how to find exhibition catalogs in the library. There is a short activity in the video!