Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 4304: Global History of Cinema: Films & Media Collection

A course guide to library research resources for Prof. Stob's Global History of Cinema students

Finding Films

The library has many streaming video databases including educational videos, films, and performance videos.

Visit the Streaming Databases for the complete list.  Listed below are selected streaming databases useful for film studies and criticism.

Academic Video Online Premium  
Comprehensive video collection covering American History, Area Studies, Art & Architecture, Asian Film, Black Studies, Business & Economics, Counseling & Therapy, Criminal Justice & Public Safety, Current Affairs, Dance, Education, Environmental Studies, Ethnic Studies, Ethnography, Fashion Studies, Film Studies, Gay & Lesbian Studies, Global Business & Economics, Health, Humanities, Music, Opera, Philosophy, Psychology, Rehabilitation Therapy, Religion & Science, Sports Medicine & Exercise Science, Theatre, Women's & Gender Studies, World History, and World Languages & Literature. Also included are special collections for "The March of Time" and "Meet the Press."

If you are looking for films, you can search the Library Catalog by the movie title, by director, or by main actor(s). 

Search by title or author, or enter the keyword "playscript" Media content (videos, cassettes, DVDs, and CDs) at Alkek can be found on the 3rd floor. We also have equipment (like VHS cassette and DVD players) also on the 3rd floor.

The Criterion Collection

The library has items from the Criterion Collection.  Click here for a listing of all Criterion Collection content in Alkek, or type in "criterion collection" as a keyword search.

There are 317 films from the Critierion Collection available in streaming video from Kanopy.

Order a Film or Book from another library

Interlibrary Loan is a Library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own.

Log in to ILLiad to make an Interlibrary Loan request


This service is free to Texas State students, faculty, and staff. Typical turnaround for a book is 2 weeks.