Nursing, health administration, health information management, long term care, health services physical therapy, respiratory care, radiation therapy, communication disorders, clinical laboratory science & other allied health disciplines.
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and The Cochrane Collaboration.
Latest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorder and other reference works from the American Psychiatric Association. Previous editions of DSM are also included here, for reference and archival purposes.
Health and evidence based medicine. The JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports is a refereed, online journal that publishes systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology. These reviews may be of quantitative or qualitative research data, text and/or opinion, relate to economic data or combinations of the above.
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Scholarly journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations.
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
PubMed provides all MEDLINE citations plus out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain general science and chemistry journals in MEDLINE; citations that precede MEDLINE indexing; additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMed Central and receive a qualitative review by the National Library of Medicine.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource. For each clinical issue, an expert in the field reviews the topic, synthesizes information, summarizes key findings, and provides detailed, practical recommendations for patient care.
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
Titles cited in CINAHL, supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Updated daily. 1989-present
Journals of interest to nursing, allied health, and health administration students and professionals. Current.
A comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical information for nursing practice, education, and research at the point of care. Includes Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, continuing education modules, and videos.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952-present.
Here are 3 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, , then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
Serials Directory: Search by the journal's ISSN and limit to the field "IS ISSN (No Dashes)". Make sure to enter only enter the 8 digits removing the dash if present. This resource will indicate if an entry is peer reviewed by showing the field "Peer Reviewed: Yes" in an entry. If the resource is not peer reviewed or if this resource cannot provide that information the "Peer Reviewed" line will be omitted.