General databases
General databases or search engines are sometimes a good initial starting points for research.
Here are a few suggestions-
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Recommended databases
The library subscribes to many databases dealing political science topics. This is a full list of Political Science databases available via the Alkek Library The databases listed under Law/Government on our databases page may also be useful
Here are a few good places to start your research-
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowLarge database indexing publications worldwide pertaining to communication, advertising, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies. 1915 to present.
- Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowLegislative histories, bills & laws, voting records, Congressional Record archive, hearings, House & Senate reports, Serial Set & Maps. 1789 to present.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on a wide range of topics, with overviews, background and timeline of a topic, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from opposing positions. 1923 to present.
- Westlaw Academic This link opens in a new window
Decisions and case law from all state and federal courts, statutes, federal regulations, law review and legal journal articles. 1789-present.
- PAIS Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Indexes documents which provide historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies around the world. 1914 to present.
- Legislative & Executive Reports This link opens in a new windowReports, documents, and maps either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. 1789 to present.
