COMM 3301: Empirical Research Methods: Articles & Databases

LinkSource checks our other database to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases.

Sometimes you'll see this image:

Research Databases

The library subscribes to over 400 databases and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. This is different than searching the world wide web since these are subscribed to by the library. You have access to them on campus and off campus with your NetID and password. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Ues the alphabet at the top of the Research Databases page to choose a database by its name.

You can find all different types of periodical articles in our research databases - scholarly peer reviewed or "refereed" journal, newspaper, magazine, etc. There is usually a way to limit to Peer Reviewed or "refereed" articles only.

For specific types of articles or resources such as Newspapers, Film Reviews, or Timelines/Chronologies use the By Type drop down menu on the Research Databases page.

 Start Your Research searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.

Try a database particular to your subject for more advanced research in your subject area by using the databases listed under By Subject.

Databases by Subject

Communication And Journalism Databases

Look at the list of Communication And Journalism Databases for information about topics such as family communication.

• Communication Source

• ComAbstracts

• Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

• GenderWatch

• Humanities Source

• PsycINFO

• Social Sciences Citation Index (Part of Web of Science) - highest times cited article search

• Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

• SocINDEX with Full Text

Or you can try these Multi-Subject if your topic covers different subjects or is cross disciplinary. These are similar to Start Your Research but don't search the library catalog. 

• Academic Search
• JSTOR - Most articles are Scholarly.
• Project Muse

Dissertations & Theses can also help you find in depth context and perspective on an issue.

• Dissertations & Theses Global (Expanded)

• Digital Collections @TxState - search for dissertations and theses from Texas State as well as faculty research. If you don't find it here you may want to check the library catalog. Not all Texas State Dissertations and These are online.

WorldCat

• Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and parts of the world. Shows which items we own. Direct link to request items we don't own via interlibrary loan.