| Google Scholar |
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
Find peer reviewed articles in Start Your Research
Try Start Your Research first!
- Check the box for Full Text if you'd like to find entire articles available to read online and/or limit articles to those from Peer Reviewed journals.
Demographic Databases
Subject Databases
CINAHL
Education Source
ERIC
JSTOR
MEDLINE
Physical Education Index
PsycINFO
ScienceDirect
Scopus
SPORTDiscus
BIOSIS
Web of Science
CAB Abstracts
Related Databases
Peer Review, Explained
Libraries subscribe to various types of periodicals, such as scholarly (some of which may be peer-reviewed, blind peer-reviewed, editorial review) popular, or trade publications. Choosing which to use depends on your topic, the type of writing you are doing, your assignment, and the sources your professor wants you to use. Many databases offer the option to limit to "Peer Reviewed". If you're not sure if a journal is considered peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's by looking up the title of the journal.
What is a peer-reviewed journal?
A scholarly/academic journal is peer-reviewed when manuscripts are sent to experts, sometimes anonymously (blind peer-reviewed), in the related field. They make recommendations to editor for publication, rejection or revision. These journals are generally thought to be of the highest quality.