LinkSource checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:
These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Research Databases and then under the Communication And Journalism databases on that page. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password. You can use these databases to find articles from magazines, journals, and other types of periodicals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Archaeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, radio, television, film, religion, and theater.
Communication Source offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
ComAbstracts contains abstracts of articles published in 63 of the primary professional journals of the communications fields, including mass communication, journalism, mass media, and speech communication.
ComAnalytics: Communications, Journalism, Mass Media. Provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication. It is the only national system that covers the communication field comprehensively, that properly classifies the field's programs, and that uses metrics validated against relevant external benchmarks (ISI journal impact ratings and rankings from the NCA study of doctoral program reputation).
CQ Reasercher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly by CQ Press. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; and assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing position; and bibliographies of key sources. 1960-present.
CultureGrams: Country information. Includes World Edition, Kids Edition, States Edition (U.S.) and Provinces Edition (Canada). Covers Land and Climate, History, Population, Language, Religion, Customs and Courtesies, Lifestyle, Government, Economy, Education, Health, Transportation and Communications. Current Country Information, Maps, Images, Native Recipes, Biographies, Downloadable Statistics.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a database for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Issues and Controversies provides a summary of issues and controversies in today's news, including historical background on the issues and a synopsis of all sides of the debate. Issues & Controversies presents and enhances the full back file of Issues & Controversies On File, which has probed more than 600 controversial topics in the news since 1995. Pro and con summaries, chronologies, statistical snapshots, illustrations, maps, bibliographies, and contact information augment the coverage of current and historical events.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Current social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.
Academic Search offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Ad*Access: Coverage: 1911-1955, Magazine and newspaper ads, image database.
Education Full Text indexes over 400 English-language education periodicals, yearbooks, and books from 1983 to present. Some full text coverage available from 1996-present.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 offers over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States. Coverage: 1850-1920 of Advertising images and publications; broadsides, advertising cookbooks, billboards, signs, ephemera.
ERIC indexes and abstracts articles published in over 700 education journals and thousands of research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides and lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education, dating from 1966 to the present. ERIC contains a **limited** number of full-text articles/documents.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) provides abstracts to the world's published literature on the nature, use, and teaching of language. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Includes citations to book reviews appearing in serials abstracted for the print Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
MLA International Bibliography indexes critical materials on literature, criticism, drama, languages, linguistics, folklore and some speeches. 1926 to present. Some full text articles. Citations to series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies.
PsycINFO indexes and abstracts international journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology (from 1887 to the present). Indexes over 1,300 journals.
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,000 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers.Coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Litfinder offers approximately 126,500 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts, 5,000 full-text short stories, 2,800 full-text essays, 1,800 full-text speeches, and 1,000 full-text plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
Several speech indexes can be found by searching the library catalog for "speeches" and limiting to "Reference Collection" under the "Search Entire Collection" drop box.
The web resource American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States includes speeches, theories, and exercises.