Subject Discipline Databases
These databases provide academic journal articles (i.e. scholarly, peer-reviewed or refereed) on international business topics. Journal articles argue a thesis or attempt to establish new knowledge on specific problems.
- ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window
Articles about economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation. 1971-present
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
Search Tips
Search by keywords/small phrases and use Boolean searching. Works well in library databases, Google Scholar can do it to some extent under Advanced Search.
AND: "international trade" AND "best practice*"
OR: "international trade" OR "global trade"
| "international trade" | OR | "global trade" |
| AND | ||
| "multinational enterprise" | OR | "multinational corporation" |
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase, "international trade". Works in library databases and Google Scholar
Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *. Useful technique, but only works in library databases.
corporat* will retrieve: corporate, corporation, corporations, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider in your search. This only applies to library databases, as Google Scholar is only keyword searching, but keep an eye out for various terms you read in articles.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information.
Consider the features in Settings to make it work better with your research:
â–ºLibrary Links - FindIt@TxState
â–ºBibliography Manager - set this EndNote (which is referring to the desktop version).
Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals, but this filter is not available in Google Scholar. Consult Ulrich's to find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed by searching the title of the journal.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).