It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
POSI 2304: Introduction to Political Science: Finding Government Information
The Alkek Library Government Information unit is a federal and state depository library for government documents and information. The depository collection consists of U.S. government and State of Texas documents, including books, serials, and maps. This large collection includes items in print, electronic, and microfiche formats.
Please note that while many of the materials in this collection do appear in the online catalog, others do not. Please use the databases at right to find materials and visit the staff either online or in person on the 5th for further assistance.
For further information
We have a very friendly and knowledgeable staff in Governmenet Information.
They will be happy to help you find out more about the wonderful resources available in the collection.
Index to the Catalog of United States Government Publications, including documents generated by the legislative and executive branches and other Federal Government agencies. Contains materials distributed to Federal Depository Libraries (such as Alkek Library).
Coverage: 1976 to present
U.S. legislative members & committees, bills & laws, bill tracking & histories, hot bills, congressional testimony/hearings, committee reports, voting records, floor votes, campaign contributions from individuals & PACS, congressional publications, regulations, Congressional Record & Rules, & political news.
Coverage: Legislative histories 1969 to present. Bills & Laws 1970 to present. Vote Report 1987 to present. Committees prints 1817 to present. Congressional Record Bound Edition (aka Permanent Digital Collection) and Predecessors 1789-1997. CR Daily Edition 1985-present, CRS Reports 2004-2010, Hearings 2004 to present. House & Senate Documents and Reports 1817 to present, Serial Set 1789-present. Serial Set Maps 1789 to present.
The Serial Set includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. It is a broken into parts (collections). Collection 1 begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and provides comprehensive, full-text access to Congressional and Executive branch documents and reports published in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set through 1969. Collection II provides coverage from 1970 to present. Collection II also contains Senate and Executive Documents and Reports 1817-1978.
For additional government research, try one of these sources.