Image Databases
This is a list of some image databases related mostly to art and design, but if you need more or other types of images, for example medical, historical, multi-cultural, there are many more on the Image Databases page.
- ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new window
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Finding Images
For more info on finding images, copyright, presentation tips and tools see the Finding Images Guide.
Finding Images in Image Databases and Books
You can see a list of all the library's image databases from the "By Type" drop down menu on the Research Databases page. Or use the list to the left here.
You can also check the library catalog for art books with images. Just use the keyword for the type of image you want and an abbreviation like ill or illus for illustration. Example: birds and ill or type in birds and illus. Other words for finding images that you can use in catalog searches are pictoral works, illustration, or "___ in art", for example "flowers in art".
We do own the Illustration Index, Sculpture Index, and Havlice's World Painting Index (tells you what book has a reproduction or illustration of known works by known artists) and Martha Moss's Photography Books Index, volumes I and II, a subject guide to photo anthologies. If you do a keyword search under “catalogue raisonne” you will get all the books of the complete works (catalogue raisonne) of particular artists.
