LibGuides: World Languages & Literatures: Suggested Databases

Databases

Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.

World Languages Databases

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database indexing articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics. Over 1000 of the indexed journals have full text. 1916-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Education journals and documents (research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides & lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education). 1966 to present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the arts and humanities. Covers over 1100 journals spanning 25 disciplines. 1975 to present.
Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
ARTFL This link opens in a new window
An index to 3,500 French-language literary, religious, philosophical, political and scientific works from the 12th to 20th centuries.
Le Monde This link opens in a new window
Written in the French language, covering leading local and international issues and events.

Speech Accent Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains audio speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds, including native and non-native speakers of English.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 Reference books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject specific reference books. All material can be translated into other languages by clicking at the top of the screen on the right.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world. eHRAF has a unique classification system which allows for precise culture and subject retrieval.
NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new window
Thousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.

ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.

Finding Images on the Web

Google Image search is a commonly used way to find images on the web. Use the Tools feature to find images labeled as ok to reuse.

Other safe places to find images:

Wikimedia Commons

Internet Archive