Open Licenses Librarian, Arts & Humanities Team Librarian
Reference Databases
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Entries cover all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Current edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects. Simultaneous user limit is 5.
Suggested Databases for Finding Articles & Images
-
Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
You can use the Start Your Research tool It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.
Art and Design Databases
These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles. Also refer to the Library's Image Collections resources. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images.
-
Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
Major magazines on fine and applied arts, interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening (ex. Apollo, Art Monthly, Architectural Review, and Graphis). 1895-2005.
-
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes or provides access to hundreds of art, archaeology, architecture, design, media and related journals and books in English and Western European languages, as well as art reproductions and images. Index from 1928, full text from 1937.
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the arts and humanities. Covers over 1100 journals spanning 25 disciplines. 1975 to present.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art / Repetoire Internacional de la literature d'Art This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. Art history abstracts from over1,200 journals. Coverage: BHA: 1990-2007, RILA 19751989
-
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowDesign and craft journals plus data on international designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. 1973-present.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. 1700-1799
-
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. 1980-present.
-
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
American and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
-
rhizome.org This link opens in a new window
Exhibition, creation, and preservation of of digital contemporary art. 1996 to present.
Other Useful Databases for Art & Design
-
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
International bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, covering history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literatures. 1906-present.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Current edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects. Simultaneous user limit is 5.
-
WorldCat (public version) This link opens in a new window
Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
Understanding a Journal Citation
You'll see something like this:
It's important to know the parts of a citation so you can interpret it correctly. You must have at least the Journal name, volume, issue, and page number to be able to locate the article.