Start Your Research
Start Your Research searches most, but not all, of our databases, plus the catalog. Because research in Geography can be very multi-disciplinary, Start Your Research is a very good option.
Also, many Geography articles are through Taylor & Francis journals - easily found in the Start Your Research tool.
Need help?
If you need help with the Geography databases, check the tips in the Finding Articles tab or contact a librarian via Alkek's Ask-a-Librarian service.
Databases by Type
In addiition to our Geography subject databases, I highly recommend trying our databases organized by type. Some of our types include Country Studies, Census & Demographics, and Maps.
Some examples of Country Studies databases:
Culture Grams -Country information. Includes World Edition, Kids Edition, States Edition (U.S.) and Provinces Edition (Canada). Covers Land and Climate, History, Population, Language, Religion, Customs and Courtesies, Lifestyle, Government, Economy, Education, Health, Transportation and Communications.
Europa - Contains lengthy and informative essays about the economic history of a country, focusing on recent history.
Recommended databases
These databases tend to be Geography-specific.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. North American coverage: 1669 -present. International: 1933 to present.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowCitations to scholarly, government and general-interest publications on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
Additional relevant databases
These additional resources may be valuable to you.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCovers the world's agricultural literature, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, soil and water resources, and earth and environmental sciences. 1970 to present.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowYearly reviews of the most significant research contributions in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Articles are written by recognized experts in each field. 1932 to present.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Basic and applied research on freshwater, brackish, and marine environments and organisims. 1971 to present.
- BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Contains original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, microbiology, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. 1926-present
- Conference Proceedings Citation IndexUse this source to find cited conference proceedings in science with enhanced coverage of books and meeting abstracts. Part of Web of Knowledge.
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Articles from scientific journals and magazines published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Indexing from 1984, full text from 1994.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Vast archive of social science data for use with statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, Stata and R. 1962 to present.
- NOAA Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides weather-related satellite images, data sets, and climate models for analyses. Historical to current.
- NTIS: National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowA large central resource for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related technical reports. 1964 to present
- PAIS Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Indexes documents which provide historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies around the world. 1914 to present.
- Sanborn Maps (Texas Cities) This link opens in a new window
Maps published by the Sanborn Map Company of Texas towns and cities from 1867 through 1970 that document the history, growth, & development of Texas cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
- Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the sciences. Covers all science disciplines. 1899 to present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
- Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Large, multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the social sciences. 1898 to present.
- Social Sciences Full TextIndexing from 1983 to present for wide variety of social science disciplines, with selected full text from 1994 to present. Database is produced and managed by HW Wilson.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952-present.