Bibliography Mining
If someone has already done research on a topic you are investigating you are encouraged to seek out the same sources. Sometimes you may find an abundant amount of material that wasn't important to them, but is perfect for you. Other times you may find you disagree with their interpretation, which will give you something to write about from a fresh perspective.
Theses and dissertations are a great place to find bibliographies (sometimes called literature reviews) Many can be found in this database-
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
Finding articles & documents on your topic
The library has many databases dealing with historical topics. Several databases contain primary source materials from various periods of history.Some of the best ones for research on the history of our first century include-
- 19th Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full page views and text searching of numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- ATLA ReligionMany full text articles essays, and book reviews
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
Multiple indexes of British and American books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives from the 19th century.
- Early English Books OnlineDigital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser & Shakespeare through the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowContains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Subject areas include history, geography, social sciences, fine arts, literature, language, religion, philosophy, law, medicine, science, and technology.
Coverage 1700-1799
Format Over 180,000 full text books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, Bibles, sheet music, sermons, advertisements and other ephemera.
- Hathi Trust Digital LibraryHathiTrust makes over 8.8 million volumes of digitized book and journal collections available from some of the nation’s great research libraries. INCLUDES many volumes of "Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the U.S." See Government Information tab above for details on this important source.
- Periodicals Archive OnlineInternational, scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines.
Coverage 1802-2002
