Skip to main content

History: Books

WorldCat

Worldcat is a database containing catalog records (for books, manuscripts, websites & internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, newspapers, journals & magazines, sound recordings, media) from libraries around the world.  This is a great place to identify materials you might want to request on interlibrary loan, if our library doesn't own them.

ILL - TexShare

undefined

NOTE: Please see the Remote Services LibGuide for updates to ILL services during Spring 2020.

Reference Resources in History

The Alkek Library has a wealth of books and other resources in our online catalog which will be useful when studying all fields and time periods of history. Below is a partial list of some key reference books in our collection:

Chronologies

Chronicle of the World — Alkek Oversize, Floor 5  D11 .C56 1990  
Chronology of World History — Alkek General, Floor 5   D11 .M39 1999

Day By Day, Chronologies of the 20th Century- Series contains Volumes for 1920s- 1980s

Call numbers vary slightly with each title. Full information is a available by clicking HERE for information on each title in the series. 

Great Events From History series

This series contains basic information on many fascinating events from all periods of history.  The series has several volumes and the titles are all HERE in our online catalog.  Click on the title for specific call number information. 

Historical Statistics/Maps and Atlases

Demographic Yearbook (United Nations, 1948-present) — 5th floor  HA17.D45
Historical Statistics of the United States,Colonial Times-1970 — Ref HA202.A38
Historical Statistics of Black America — Ref E185.H543
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia, Oceania — Ref HA4675.M552
International Historical Statistics: The Americas — Ref HA175.M55
International Historical Statistics: Europe — Ref HA1107.M5
Historical Maps on File — Ref G1030.G46
Historical Atlases — Atlas Stand #4

Bibliographies and Guides

AHA Guide to Historical Literature — Ref D20.A54
European History Highway: Guide to Internet sources — Ref D16.117.E97
Kaiser Index to Black Resources, (1948-1986) — Ref E185 .K37
Read All About Her! Texas Women’s History: A Working Bibliography — Ref HQ1438 .T4 .S62
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature
Reference Sources in History
Women in American History: A Bibliography — Ref HQ1410 .W64

Women’s History Sources: A Guide to Archives and Manuscript Resources in the U.S.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The African-American Encyclopedia — Ref E185.A253
American Immigrant Culture — Ref E184.A63448
The Asian-American Encyclopedia — Ref E184.O6.A827
Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia — Ref E185.86.B542
The Cambridge Ancient History — Ref D57.C25
The Cambridge Modern History — Ref D208.N4
Companion to Historiography — Ref D13.C63
Dictionary of American History — Ref E174.D52
Dictionary of the Middle Ages — Ref D114.D45
Dictionary of Wars — Ref D25.A2.K63
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War — Ref E468.E53
Encyclopedia of American History — Ref E174.E53
Encyclopedia of American Social History — Ref HN 57.E58
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing — Ref D14.E53
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust — Ref D804.E53
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War — Ref D557.7E53
Encyclopedia of Women’s History in America — Ref HQ1410.C85
The Encyclopedia of World War II — Ref D740.E516
Handbook of Texas
History in Dispute — Ref D20.H578
Magill’s Guide to Military History — Ref D25.A2.M34
The Oxford Companion to World War II — Ref D740.O94
Reference Library of Hispanic America — Ref E184.S75.R44
Vital Speeches of the Day — Ref PN6121.V52
What Happened Where — Ref D419.C58

Ask a Librarian