Museums
- Latino Smithsonian Museum About the Center The Smithsonian Latino Center was created in 1997 to promote Latino presence within the Smithsonian. The Center is not represented in one physical location; rather, it works collaboratively with the Institution's museums and research centers, ensuring that the contributions of the Latino community in the arts, history, national culture and scientific achievement are explored, presented, celebrated and preserved. We support scholarly research, exhibitions, public and educational programs, web-based content and virtual platforms, and collections and archives. We also manage leadership and professional development programs for Latino youth, emerging scholars and museum professionals.
- Latino Smithsonian Virtual Museum Virtual interactive museum
Archives
- Bracero History Archives The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
The Wittliff Collections
- The Wittliff CollectionsThe collection is located in the Albert B. Alkek Library on the Texas State University main campus. Founded by Austin screenwriter and photographer Bill Wittliff and his wife, Sally, our mission is to collect, preserve and share the artistic process that springs from the Southwestern imagination. Thousands of students, researchers and visitors engage with our collections each year and discover how the unique character of our region shapes its people and its culture. We invite you to join us on this continuing journey.
- Southwestern & Mexican Photography CollectionsOffers more than 19,000 images of the Southwest and Mexico, ranging from historical images to 20th-century masters and emerging 21st-century artists. The Wittliff boasts the finest holdings of documentary photography and photojournalism by Mexican photographers in the United States.