Music Education Resources: Music Education Research Handbooks and Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies Online
online
See article on "Music Education."

Abrahams, Frank. The Oxford Handbook of Choral Pedagogy (Oxford U, 2017)
MT 875 .O94 2017: Music Library, Education Collection

Benedict, Cathy. The Oxford Handbook of Social Justice in Music Education (Oxford U, 2015)
MT 1 .O96 2015: Music Library, Education Collection
also online

Bowman, Wayne D. The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy in Music Education (Oxford U, 2012)
MT 1 .O94 2012: Music Library, Education Collection
also online

Campbell, Patricia Shehan. The Oxford Handbook of Children's Musical Cultures (Oxford U, 2013)
ML 83 .O94 2013: Music Library, Education Collection
also online

Cleland, Kent D. Routledge Companion to Aural Skills Pedagogy: Before, In and Beyond Higher Education (Routledge, 2021)
online

Colwell, Richard. Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference (Schirmer, 1992)
MT 1 .H138 1992: Music Library

Colwell, Richard. MENC Handbook of Musical Cognition and Development (Oxford U, 2006)
online

Colwell, Richard. MENC Handbook of Research Methodologies (Oxford U, 2006)
online

Colwell, Richard. MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning (Oxford U, 2015)
Volume 1, Strategies online
Volume 2, Applications online

Colwell, Richard. The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference (Oxford U, 2002)
MT 1 .N48 2002: Music Library, Reference
also online

Conway, Colleen Marie. The Oxford Handbook of Preservice Music Teacher Education in the United States (Oxford U, 2020)
MT 3 .U5 O94 2020: Alkek stacks
also online

Conway, Colleen M. The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research in American Music Education (Oxford U, 2014)
MT 1 .O95 2014: Music Library, Education Collection

Creech, Andrea. Routledge International Handbook of Music Psychology in Education and the Community (Routledge, 2021)
online

Edwards. Jane. The Oxford Handbook of Music Therapy (Oxford U, 2015)
online

Hallam, Susan. The Oxford Handbook of Music Psychology (Oxford U, 2016)
online

Howe, Blake. The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies (Oxford U, 2016)
ML 3916 .O96 2016: Music Library, Education Collection
also online

Juslin, Patrik N. Handbook of Music and Emotion: Theory, Research, Applications (Oxford U, 2010)
online

Lee, Colin. The Oxford Handbook of Queer and Trans Music Therapy (Oxford U, 2022)
online

Mantle, Roger. The Oxford Handbook of Music Making and Leisure (Oxford U, 2017)
ML 3916 .O97 2017: Alkek stacks

MacDonald, Raymond A. R. Handbook of Musical Identities (Oxford U, 2017)
online

McFerran, Katrina. Handbook of Music, Adolescents, and Wellbeing (Oxford U, 2019)
online

McPherson, Gary. The Child As Musician: A Handbook of Musical Development, 2nd ed. (Oxford U, 2016)
ML 83 .C45 2016: Alkek stacks
also online

McPherson, Gary. Creativities, Technologies, and Media in Music Learning and Teaching: an Oxford Handbook of Music Education, Volume 5 (Oxford U, 2018)
MT 1 .O935 2018: Alkek stacks

McPherson, Gary. The Oxford Handbook of Music Education (Oxford U, 2012)
Volume 1: MT 1 .O93 2012 v.1: Music Library, Education Collection
also online
Volume 2: MT 1 .O93 2012 v.2: Music Library, Education Collection
also online

Phelps, Roger P. A Guide to Research in Music Education, 5th ed. (Scarecrow, 2005)
MT 1 .P5 2005: Music Library, Education Collection

Ruthmann, S. Alex. The Oxford Handbook of Technology and Music Education (Oxford U, 2017)
MT 1 .O97 2017: Music Library, Education Collection

Smith, Gareth Dylan. The Routledge Research Companion to Popular Music Education (Routledge, 2017)
online

Thaut, Michael. The Oxford Handbook of Music and Neuroscience (Oxford U, 2018)
online

Thaut, Michael. The Oxford Handbook of Music and the Brain (Oxford U, 2019)
online

Williamon, Aaron. Performing Music Research: Methods in Music Education, Psychology, and Performance Science (Oxford U, 2021)
online

Wright, Ruth. The Routledge Handbook to Sociology of Music Education (Routledge, 2021)
online

 

Texas State has a branch library devoted to MUSIC! The Schneider Music Library, located in the Music Building, opens its door for all students to explore, ask questions, and check out items—regardless of your major. We encourage you to visit us in person or virtually, anytime!