Finding Video & Audio
- Library Streaming Music and Audio DatabasesMusic, audio clips, transcripts, speech, sounds, and audio books databases that the library subscribes to
- Library Streaming Video DatabasesEducational and popular movies, documentaries, and more video databases that the library subcribes to
Learn more about the library's Movie and Video Collections here
Engineering Images
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) from 1950 to present. Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards from 1988 to present.
- ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
ARTstor Image Use
"ARTstor images are available for strictly pedagogical and scholarly purposes, as outlined in our Terms of Use. No ARTstor images may be used for publication or commercial purposes." - From ARTstor Digital Library FAQs
Finding Images using Library Image Databases
The library's image databases are databases that the library subscribes to. They are generally going to have more high quality, high resolution images than images you find through Google or other free image websites. Some of the sites listed on the Image Websites tab DO have larger resolution files.
Image Databases
This is a list of some image databases related mostly to art and design, but if you need more or other types of images, for example medical, historical, multi-cultural, there are many more on the Image Databases page.
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
- Art Images for College Teaching This link opens in a new windowImages of ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art & architecture that can be used in any application that is both educational and non-commercial.
- ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on the history of women in the United States. This diverse collection ranges from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new windowOver 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new windowEssays on ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. 2000 BC to present.
- OAIster This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, books, texts, audio files, videos, images, and datasets stored in over 1,100 open access repositories all over the world.
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
American and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center This link opens in a new window
Search millions of items from the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library, research holdings and collections.
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Graphically rich primary sources depicting popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
