Books to Read
-
Coaching and Mentoring Research : A Practical Guide
by
Call Number: HF5385 . 2024 E-bookISBN: 9781526422439Publication Date: 2019Packed full of case studies, activities and hints and tips for best practice, this book gives coaching and mentoring trainees the knowledge and skills they need to make the best start in their research career. -
Mentoring to Empower Researchers
by
Call Number: LB1731.4 .H67 2020 E-bookISBN: 9781526483140Publication Date: 2020Mentorship can be a rewarding experience for both the mentor and the mentee. Within this context, this book provides guidance on how to set up mentorship programs in your institutions, and the skills of an effective mentor, including: Mentorship for transition points, Skills development needed for publication, funding application and networking, Mentorship for performing supervision duties. This is a practical and easy-to-use guide that draws on the editors' extensive experience, and an invaluable tool for practitioners, career advisors and academics working in research and skills development. -
Best Practices for Supporting and Expanding Undergraduate Research in Chemistry
by
Call Number: QD453.3 .B4745 2018 E-bookISBN: 9780841232846Publication Date: 2018-12-12The aim of this volume is to share a collection of best practices currently employed by faculty and administrators to support and expand undergraduate research in chemistry at their colleges or universities. This symposium helps fill the gap between generalized or holistic assessments and individual classroom/laboratory innovations, which can serve as models for adoption. The book is divided into four parts: Early Career Experiences, Upper Division Opportunities, Program and Curricular Reform, and Mentoring and Assessment. Overall, this volume provides a snapshot of curricular and programmatic best practices in engaging a broad spectrum of students in undergraduate research. -
A Mathematician's Practical Guide to Mentoring Undergraduate Research
by
Call Number: QA11.2 .D67 2019ISBN: 9781470449346Publication Date: 2019-10-30A Mathematician's Practical Guide to Mentoring Undergraduate Research is a complete how-to manual on starting an undergraduate research program. Readers will find advice on setting appropriate problems, directing student progress, managing group dynamics, obtaining external funding, publishing student results, and a myriad of other relevant issues. The authors have decades of experience and have accumulated knowledge that other mathematicians will find extremely useful. -
On Being a Mentor: A Guide for Higher Education Faculty
by
Call Number: LB1731.4 E-bookISBN: 9781040146804Publication Date: 2025Written for professors and academic leaders with pithy clarity, the text is rooted in the latest research on developmental relationships in higher educational settings and offers concrete mentoring strategies and best practices. On Being a Mentor is infused with an equity-minded approach, and challenges faculty to foster cultures and leverage developmental relationships that honor mentees' identities to promote inclusion, equity, and belonging. The authors couple this call with evidence-based rules of engagement for mentoring--including both relational and career mentoring tactics--as well as methods for forming and managing these relationships. The authors provide mentors with a road map to being ethical and managing relationship problems, and leaders will gain insights into selecting and training mentors, assessing mentorship outcomes, and cultivating a mentoring culture. -
Mentoring Processes in Higher Education
by
Call Number: LB2300-2799.3 E-bookISBN: 9783319392172Publication Date: 2016-07-21This book portrays the various ways in which mentoring occurs in higher education. Targeting the stakeholders who benefit from mentoring, namely faculty, graduate and undergraduate students, and their professional colleagues, this book supports those who are involved in the mentoring process. It synthesizes the professional literature on mentoring and shares examples of effective practices that address the needs of mentors and their protégés. The book describes mutual benefits of mentoring, along with the characteristics of effective mentors and the ways in which they may support their protégés. The book shares the voices of mentors and their protégés as it illustrates how mentoring relationships form the basis for reflection, a transaction of ideas, and growth in knowledge and skills to ultimately advance the institution and field through a collaborative environment in which stakeholders thrive and are valued for their contributions. The cyclical effect of positive mentoring is illuminated through real-life examples that show how protégés eventually become mentors in a continual process of support. -
Philosophical Mentoring in Qualitative Research
by
Call Number: H62 .P463 2022 E-bookISBN: 9781003022558Publication Date: 2022-02-27This book looks at the ways that mentoring relationships can can become a practice of philosophy. By looking at mentoring experiences and relationships through a new materialist framework, the chapters highlight the intrinsically relational nature of mentoring. Through that relationality, mentoring practices can disrupt and push against hierarchies, boundaries, normativity, authority and power. This is increasingly important as mentoring roles come to prominence in a neoliberal academic environment. Suitable for students and researchers in qualitative research and higher education interested in mentoring practice and humanistic research values. -
Adviser, Teacher, Role Model, Friend
by
ISBN: 9780309063630Publication Date: 1997-08-30This guide offers helpful advice on how teachers, administrators, and career advisers in science and engineering can become better mentors to their students. It starts with the premise that a successful mentor guides students in a variety of ways: by helping them get the most from their educational experience, by introducing them to and making them comfortable with a specific disciplinary culture, and by offering assistance with the search for suitable employment. Other topics covered in the guide include career planning, time management, writing development, and responsible scientific conduct. Also included is a valuable list of bibliographical and Internet resources on mentoring and related topics.
Influential Articles
Dargahi, S., Horne, J., & Smith, S. (2024). Students as Co-Producers: Establishing the Conditions for a Successful Partnership within an Undergraduate Research Scheme. International Journal for Students as Partners, 8(1), 8–26. https://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ1446809
Davis, S. N., & Jones, R. M. (2020). The Genesis, Evolution, and Influence of Undergraduate Research Mentoring Relationships. International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, 14(1). https://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ1256215
Greer, J., & Lester, A. (2025). Mentoring Novice Undergraduate Researchers: Faculty Perceptions and Salient Practices. Innovative Higher Education, 1–22. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10755-025-09789-x
Hickey, J. E., Adam, M., Elwadia, I., Nasser, S., & Topping, A. E. (2019). A process-environment model for mentoring undergraduate research students. Journal of Professional Nursing, 35(4), 320–324. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.profnurs.2019.02.001
Komarraju, M., Musulkin, S., & Bhattacharya, G. (2010). Role of Student-Faculty Interactions in Developing College Students’ Academic Self-Concept, Motivation, and Achievement. Journal of College Student Development, 51(3), 332–342. https://doi.org/10.1353/csd.0.0137
Limeri, L. B., Carter, N. T., Hess, R. A., Tuma, T. T., Koscik, I., Morrison, A. J., Outlaw, B., Royston, K. S., Bridges, B., & Dolan, E. L. (2024). Development of the Mentoring in Undergraduate Research Survey. CBE - Life Sciences Education, 23(2). https://doi.org/10.1187/cbe.23-07-0141
Mohamad Nasri, N., Nasri, N., & Abd Talib, M. A. (2023). Understanding University Professors’ Best Mentoring Practices in Undergraduate Research. Innovations in Education and Teaching International, 60(1), 112–123. https://doi.org/10.1080/14703297.2021.1988677
Other Tools to Suport Your Research Mentorship
-
Measuring Mentor-Mentee Alignment: A ToolkitThis toolkit is useful for mentors and their mentorship teams seeking to gain an understanding of the perceived alignment of needs and supports across six domains of mentorship (research, career development, psychosocial, interpersonal, cultural responsiveness, and sponsorship).
-
Mentoring Undergraduate Research HandbookThis handbook contributes to the foundational knowledge of mentoring undergraduates in research. There is often a chasm between what is taught in the classroom and what students need to be successful. Mentorship provides a vehicle for provoking greater expectations
by students. Mentorship also provides excellent ways to gauge whether or not a student is prepared to be successful in post-baccalaureate endeavors or in the world of work. Unfortunately, mentorship remains a hidden pedagogy in undergraduate education and this handbook offers support that is not often provided to faculty and staff. -
Sample Individual Development PlanThis Individual Development Plan (IDP) created by the University of California Santa Cruz, is a planning tool that can be introduced by mentors to help mentees recognize their current skills and strengths; identify their short-term and long-term goals as a student, researcher, and educator in their field; and create a plan for strengthening their skills and meeting their aspirational goals.
-
Handbook on Mentoring Students in Undergraduate ResearchThis handbook strives to equip faculty with the tools, strategies, and insights needed to help them become more effective research mentors. It provides practical advice on how to establish a productive mentoring relationship, develop and articulate engaging research projects, and navigate common challenges. It was conceived and written by experienced undergraduate researcher mentors who themselves implemented these strategies and faced these challenges.
-
The Science of Effective Mentorship in STEMMThis report from the National Academy of Sciences offers recommendations and resources to encourage a shift away from a culture of ad hoc mentorship and toward one of intentional, inclusive, and effective mentorship in all institutional contexts.
-
Center for the Improvement of Mentored Experiences in ResearchThe Center for the Improvement of Mentored Experiences in Research (CIMER) provides resources, research, and training to improve mentoring relationships for trainees and mentors at all career stages and disciplines through the development, implementation and study of evidence-based and culturally-responsive interventions.