Recommended Databases
-
Water Resources of the United States This link opens in a new windowA wide range of reliable water data, publications, maps, software, public programs, education resources, current and historical conditions, and contacts.
-
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new windowLinks to articles from numerous authoritative abstract collections. 1950 to present.
-
Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Basic and applied research on freshwater, brackish, and marine environments and organisims. 1971 to present.
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowJournals indexed by AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management, Environment Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements. 1960 to present.
-
Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new windowArticles on culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, and fisheries management. 1971 to present.
-
NOAA Environmental Satellite, Data and Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides weather-related satellite images, data sets, and climate models for analyses. Historical to current.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Citations to scholarly, government and general-interest publications on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
-
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowCovers the world's agricultural literature, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, soil and water resources, and earth and environmental sciences. 1970 to present.
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science This link opens in a new windowLong-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Covers both foundational and cutting-edge topics in Environmental Science. Continually updated.
-
ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowOur largest science and technology database from ProQuest which contains all of the content of more subject specific databases including AGRICOLA; Materials Science Collection; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts; Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and much more.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
-
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodical articles from hundreds of journals in agriculture, biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, genetics, microbiology, physiology, zoology and other related fields. Indexing: 1983 to present. Select full text: 1994 to present.
-
BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Contains original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, microbiology, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. 1926-present
-
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Interactive database of statistics that enables users to create tables, maps, and figures from a very wide range of data sources. International in scope. Data are organized by subject, source, and geography.
-
Science.gov This link opens in a new windowSearch over 60 databases of authoritative science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Key Journals
Water and Environment Journal
Water and Environment Journal focuses on the dissemination of innovations and solutions that enhance water management best practice. Recognized internationally, they encourage contributions at the interface between academia and industry which deliver industrially impactful applied research underpinned by scientific evidence. They welcome papers on a broad range of subjects including water and wastewater management, environmental management, also when linked with environmental policy and legislation.
Water Cycle
Water Cycle is an interdisciplinary open access journal that publishes top-tier original research in all areas of water cycles, including meta-cycles. It examines their relationship to science, technology, society, economics, health, culture, policy, regulation and strategy. It also offers water academics, engineers and practitioners the opportunity to exchange knowledge and experience.
Water Environment Research
Published since 1928, Water Environment Research (WER) is an international multidisciplinary water and wastewater research journal. They focus on the dissemination of fundamental and applied research in all scientific and technical areas related to water quality. The journal encourages communication and interdisciplinary research between water sciences and related fields such as engineering, toxicology, public health, and microbiology.
Water Research
Water Research publishes refereed, original research papers on all aspects of the science and technology of the anthropogenic water cycle, water quality, and its management worldwide
Nature Water
Publishing monthly, Nature Water covers all aspects of research that are connected to this evolving relationship between society and water resources. They publish in the natural sciences (primarily Earth and environmental science), in engineering (including environmental, civil, chemical and materials engineering), and in the social sciences (economics, human geography and sociology, among other disciplines), with a particular interest in regards to interdisciplinary research. Their aim is to publish studies that will have an impact on fundamental understanding, on practical technological applications and on the potential for policy implementation.