Alkek Databases available through the Library website are all accessible off campus for patron convenience. Any articles you'd like to link to in Canvas or would like to share with students/colleagues should be shared using permalinks. For more information about how to best share resources, consult the Linking Guide. You can also create a list of essential reading using the Reading List external tool in Canvas.
Search by keywords and small phrases. Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching.
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases.
Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text or peer-reviewed journal articles.
Think about synonym terms and phrases: "culturally relevant" OR "culturally responsive"
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.
CULTUR* will retrieve: culture, cultures, culturalism, cultural, culturally, etc.
Be sure to check out the entire list of Multicultural & Gender Databases for more options.
This is a selected list and the library gets new databases often. Visit the the complete list of streaming video and audio databases. Many videos can be embedded (check the information page for copyright information); consult the Streaming Video guide for information about how to embed streaming content.
A few newer sites that include diverse populations:
https://www.nappy.co/ (provided CC0 - no attribution necessary - this one's my favorite in terms of style also)
https://www.flickr.com/photos/wocintechchat/ (free with attribution)
https://jopwellcollection.jopwell.com/internedition/ (says it's free as long as you keep the watermark attribution)
https://broadlygenderphotos.vice.com/ (all CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)
https://burst.shopify.com/ (all free - mixed licenses)
https://shop.representationmatters.me/Browse-Galleries (mix of free and for-profit photos)
https://createherstock.com/ (also mix)
19th Century Masterfile | multi-subject. Search over 70 core indexes to over 8,000 periodicals, millions of books, along with newspapers, patents and US and UK Government Documents.
19th Century UK Periodicals: New Readerships | Primary source British magazines, journals and specialty newspapers from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images. Presents a unique insight into the lifestyles, culture, pastimes and values of not only the elite class but the middle and working classes, as well.
19th Century US Newspapers | Primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. With an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Ad*Access
African American Experience | Full text to Greenwood's reference materials, lesson plans (click "Classroom Resources"),monographs, photographs, maps (click "Origins" under "Additional Resources", timelines (under "Additional Resources"), & primary documents (manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, & approx. 4,000 interviews with former slaves). Also includes Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s—considered classics in black scholarship.
American Indian Experience | Full text to over 150 reference materials, lesson plans (click "Skills Center"),monographs, photographs, maps & primary documents (treaties, speeches, and traditional tales).
AP Images
Black Abolitionist Papers
C19 the 19th Century Index | Provides integrated access to 12 bibliographic indexes including the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online, British Periodicals Collections I and II, plus the new Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism.
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Dallas Morning News Historical Archive | First-hand accounts of major events which have shaped the state of Texas, including coverage of local, regional and statewide news, community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries and people in the community. Ads, classifieds, photos & graphics are also included.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Early English Books Online | Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser & Shakespeare through the tumult of the English Civil War.
18th Century Collections Online | Contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Subject areas include history, geography, social sciences, fine arts, literature, language, religion, philosophy, law, medicine, science, and technology.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 | Over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920
Hathi Trust
Historical Newspapers | Search multiple newspaper archives: New York Times (1851-2007), Washington Post (1877-1994), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997), and Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003).
In the First Person | Personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, & oral histories. First person narratives from hundreds of published volumes. (Library does not have all Alexander Street Press collections.)
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection | Latin American primary resources on cultural life, boundary disputes, religion, and politics
When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in Start Your Research (SYR)
"Gracias por escucharnos Listening and Learning from Latinx Immigrant Parents"
If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Periodical List (PL), which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)