Skip to main content

Linking to Articles & Other Resources: Home

Learn how to link to articles and other resources in the library's databases to put in TRACS, bibliographies, or syllabi, share via email, or save in your browser.

Welcome

Welcome to the Linking to Library Resources guide. The purpose of the guide is to supplement the faculty workshop. Learn how to link to articles and other resources in the library's databases to put in TRACS, bibliographies, or syllabi, share via email, or save in your browser. The guide and workshop now includes using the Reading List Builder tool in TRACS.

Upcoming Workshops

Loading

DOI Proxy

Alkek Library's proxy is usually in front of a vendor URL or DOI:  

http://libproxy.txstate.edu/login?url=

Here's an example: 

Permalinking

A permalink is a web address that will consistently point to a specific information source such as an ebook, an article, a record in the catalog, a video, or a database. A permalink may also be called a stable link, durable link, persistent link, permanent link or document link, depending on the resource.

How do I find permalinks?
Most research databases include a permalink in the article record.  The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another.  Click on the vendor tabs above  for instructions on locating the permalinks for the various library electronic resources.

Why can't I just copy the URL in my browser's address bar?
Web addresses (URLs) that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's subscription databases usually contain dynamically generated session-based or search-based information that will not work when copied and used at a later time.

Why would I use a permalink rather than just upload the article into LMS, Google docs, faculty webpages, email or elsewhere?
You may be in violation of copyright law or license restrictions if you post content without appropriate authorization or permission.  Using permalinks is the preferred option.  For more information about copyright law, please see the Copyright Guide.  Permalinks are also used to help track statistics.  Usage statistics help the library to purchase the right resources for you. 

How do I know if a permalink will work from off campus?
When on campus, access is transparent -- you are being authenticated even if you don't realize it because we recognize the IP address.  When off campus, authentication via a proxy server, allows us to recognize and authenticate Texas State Library users.  In order for the library's electronic resources paid subscriptions (ebooks, journals) to work from outside our campus network or off campus, they must contain the library's proxy in the URL or web address.  This in turn will open a dialog box prompting the user for their NetID.  Here's more information about off campus access.

TexShare

Request a TexShare card through this request form or sign up at the Circulation/Reserve Desk on the main floor.

  • Texshare cards allow you borrowing privileges at many local libraries, including the following participating libraries.
  • All current Texas State students and employees are eligible.
  • Cards are valid for 1 long semester.
  • Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
  • You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials. 
  • Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts or grades, etc.
  • For questions about TexShare contact the Circulation/Reserve Desk at 512.245.3681 or via email.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.

Use the online Interlibrary Loan request system ILLiad to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.

Depending on the type of item you're requesting, turnaround times vary—to be safe, plan to wait a few business days for an article and at least a week for a book.

If you need help with making an ILL request or have questions about the process, call the ILL office at 512.245.4893.