Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Background Information
It is sometimes helpful to find background information on people when looking at historic newspapers. Here are a couple of databases that can be useful for background-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry. Brief biographies.
The library has many databases on a wide range of topics. For this particular class, you just need one database, called Historical Newspapers.
Within that, you will find many different newspapers covering the time period of your topics. Here's the link to the database-
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search multiple newspaper archives back to the first issues. Includes complete issues of the Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1997), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2006), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1996), New York Times (1851-2016), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Wall Street Journal (1889-2002), and Washington Post (1877-2003).
Coverage: Varies by newspaper.
Librarian-College of Liberal Arts