Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Collections on 3rd Floor: Home

Library Collections - The 3rd Floor of Alkek Library

The 3rd floor of the Albert B. Alkek Library has more than just library books!  In fact, some very unique library collections are found there: audiobooks, anatomy models and skeletons, braille, bound and current periodicals (magazines and academic journals), CDs, DVDs, games, graphic novels, kits, language learning resources, microfiche and microfilm, newspapers, secured materials, slides, and toys.  All of these library materials are available for you to use in the library, and many can be checked out for longer loan periods and taken out of the library.

At the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor, there are also headphones, calculators, full-sized skeletons, the Secured Collections, and Reserve materials can be picked up there as well.  If you want to checkout a DVD, CD, language learning disc, or audiobook, you can bring it to the Ask Alkek Desk. You can checkout items from the 3rd floor library collections or from the general library book collection from other floors at the Ask Alkek Desk or at any self-serve kiosk too.

Our library staff can help you locate, operate, and check out materials that you find in this Library Guide. 

If you have questions, please call the Ask Alkek Desk @ 512-245-2686.

Newspapers/Periodicals

Newspapers (daily/weekly editions) : Austin American Statesman, Austin Chronicle, Dallas Morning News, Hays Free Press, New York Times, San Marcos Daily Record, Suddeutsche Zeitung, University Star, and the Wall Street Journal.

Periodicals are sometimes called journals or magazines.  In the Current Periodicals Collection, there are popular magazines, peer-reviewed journals, and scholarly articles.

Testing Collection

The Testing Collection includes books and guides on tests, measurements, and assessments for a variety of clinical and other subject fields.  These materials are located on the 3rd floor of the library.  For more information about the collection and searching for related materials, see Tests & Measurements LibGuide.

Juvenile Collection Materials

There are thousands and thousands of Juvenile books in the library collection located on 3rd floor.  The collection includes non-fiction, fiction, poetry, DIY, graphic novel, audiobooks, braille, picture book titles, and many other categories.  See the Juvenile Literature LibGuide for more information about the collection and how to locate specific materials.

Not only does the library have a large collection of Juvenile literature, there is a section just for oversized Juvenile Big Books

TCMC (Texas Curriculum Materials Center) K-12 materials are found on the 3rd floor of the library next to the Juvenile Collection. These materials are used in Texas K-12 schools, and can be checked out from the library.

Braille

The Braille Collection has many classic novels and versions of the Bible. 

DVD Collection

Alkek Library has an abundant selection of  DVDs to fit everyone's needs or interest. DVDs can be checked out on the 2nd Floor at the Ask Alkek Desk.  Items can be checked out by Faculty, Staff, and Students. All are free to checkout for a limited time of two weeks. Each patron is allowed to check out four DVDs at a time. The DVD collection is on the 3rd floor. Whether you want to watch a popular movie, classic film, documentary, tv show, or study educational materials, this collection has it all!

Graphic Novels

The Graphic Novels collection has comics, series, large format books, manga, and more.  Learn how to search for graphic novels in the collection, see new novels added to the collection, and view profiles of well known graphic novel authors.

The Manga Collection has many popular series including Attack on Titan, Cowboy Bebop, and Naruto.

Toy Collection

In this collection you'll find puppets, toys, and other materials used for play and bibliotherapy.  The library even has a puppet stage and a doll house!  For book, databases,and other library materials see the Bibliotherapy & Play Therapy LibGuide.