Manipulatives
Alkek Juvenile Collection
One of the main collections available for education students and faculty is the 3rd floor Juvenile Collection. The Collection offers approximately 30,000 books, audiobooks, Big Books, and eBooks. The Juvenile Literature guide covers the collection in depth, including the literature awards represented.
TCMC K-12 Textbook Collection
If you're teaching (or planning to teach) in Texas public schools, access to K-12 textbooks approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) is a must. The TCMC K-12 Textbook Collection on the 3rd floor provides access to textbooks currently in adoption in the State of Texas. The collection can be browsed using the Library Catalog author search for "textbooks".
- Social Studies K-5 (Elementary)
Exploring Where & Why: A Hands-on Social Studies Program (K-3)
MyWorld Social Studies.
TEA Proclamation Codes: 0302, GrK/0323 Sp. GrK; 1320 Gr1; 2320 Gr2; 3320 Gr3; 4320 Gr4; 5320 Gr5 | Implemented:2015-2016 Expires: 2022-2023 - Social Studies 6-8 (Middle School)Contemporary World Studies: People, Places, and Societies. (Grade 6)
United States History: Early Colonial Period through Reconstruction. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Grade 8)
Texas History. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Grade 7)
TEA Proclamation Codes: 6320, Gr6; 7330 Gr7; 8330 Gr8 | Implemented:2015-2016 Expires: 2022-2023 - Social Studies 9-11: (Secondary/High School)
Texas World History. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Grade 9)
World Geography. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Grade 10)
The Americans: United States History since 1877. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (Grade 11)
TEA Proclamation Codes: 9797 Money Matters; 9350 World History; 9311 World Geography; 9330 United States History; 9360 United States Government; 9370 Economics | Implemented:2015-2016 Expires: 2022-2023
Spelling: 1030 Gr1 ; 2030 Gr2; 3030 Gr3 ; 4030 Gr4 ; 5030 Gr5 | Implemented:2019-2020, Expires: 2026-2027
Spelling Connections/ Call Number: PE1145.2 .G46 2012 (Grades 1-6)
Language Arts (Writing, Grammar, English)
Shurley English: English Made Easy/ Call Number: PE1112 .S58 2007 (Grades 2-6)
Texas Write Source/ Call Number: PE1404 .K46 2012 (Grades 2-12)
Writing with Power/ Call Number: PE1112 .S46 2011 (Grades 6-12)
Writing Coach: Writing and Grammar for the 21st Century/ Call Number: PE1408 .A586 2012 (Grades 6-12)
Spring Board: English Textual Power/ Call Number: LB1631 .S667 2011 (Grades 6-12)
Spanish Language Arts K-5
Tesoros de Lectura/ Call Number: PC4073 .T476 2011
SRA ¡Imagínalo!/ Call Number: PC4115 .I44 2009
Scott Foresman Calle de la Lectura/ Call Number: PC4115 .E93 2011
Texas Senderos/ Call Number: PC4115 .A332 2011
Grades K-5 Reading Series
6-8 Reading Elective
6-12 Literature Series
Math K-5
Texas GO Math! (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Texas GO Math! : Vivan las ¡Matemáticas! (Spanish; Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Creative Mathematics Curriculum (TPS Publishing Inc.)
Proclamation Codes: 0120 GrK; 1120 Gr1; 2120 Gr2; 3120 Gr3; 4120 Gr4; 5120 Gr5 | Implemented:2014-2015 Expires: 2021-2022
Math 6-8: 6120 Gr6 ; 7120 Gr7 ; 8120 Gr8 | Implemented:2014-2015 Expires: 2021-2022
Carnegie Learning Texas Middle School Math Series (Carnegie Learning, Inc)/ Call Number: QA39.3 .C37 2015
Math Explorations (Texas State University)
Texas GO Math! (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
SpringBoard Mathematics (The College Board)
Algebra I - High School (9151) | Implemented:2015-2016 Expires: 2022-2023
Big Ideas Math. Algebra 1/ Call Number: QA152.3 .L37 2016
Texas Algebra I (Carnegie Learning)
Texas Algebra 1 (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: QA152.3 .K36 2016
Algebra II - High School (9152) | Implemented:2015-2016 Expires: 2022-2023
Big Ideas Math. Algebra 2/ Call Number: QA154.2 .L3835 2016
Texas Algebra II (Carnegie Learning)
Algebra 2 (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: QA154.2 .K345 2016
Geometry - High School (9161) | Implemented:2015-2016 Expires: 2022-2023
Big Ideas Math. Geometry/ Call Number: QA445 .L355 2016
Texas Geometry (Carnegie Learning)/ Call Number: QA461 .T45 2016
Geometry (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: QA445 .K33 2016
Precalculus - High School (9180) | Implemented:2015-2016 Expires: 2022-2023
Science K-5
Interactive Science (Pearson)/ Call Number: Q161.2 .I495 2015
Science Resources (Delta Education LLC/CPO Science)/ Call Number: Q163 .S454 2014
Texas Science Fusion (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: Q161.2 .S354 2015
Texas Fusión (Spanish; Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: Q161.2 .S3518 2015
Science 6-8
Earth iScience (Glencoe-McGraw Hill)/ Call Number: QE28 .E37 2012 (Grade 6)
Life iScience (Glencoe-McGraw Hill)/ Call Number: QE28 .E37 2012 (Grade 7)
Physical iScience (Glencoe-McGraw Hill)/ Call Number: QE28 .E37 2012 (Grade 8)
Integrated iScience (Glencoe-McGraw Hill)/ Call Number: Q161.2 .I58 2012
Texas Science Fusion (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: Q161.2 .S354 2015
High School Science: 9241 Biology ; 9251 Chemistry ; 9261 Physics ; 9295 Earth & Space Science ; 9231 Integrated Physics and Chemistry.
Implemented:2014-2015 ; Expires: 2021-2022
Biology (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: QH308.7 .N69 2015
Living by Chemistry (print student edition) (Bedford, Freeman & Worth Publishing Group)/ Call Number: QD31.3 .S73 2012
Chemistry in the Community, 6th Edition (Bedford, Freeman & Worth Publishing Group)/ Call Number: TD193 .C472 2012
Modern Chemistry (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/Call Number: QD31.2 .S279 2015
Physics (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: QC23.2 .S454 2015
Environmental Science (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)/ Call Number: GE105 .H44 2013
English as a Second Language K-5
Treasure Chest for English Language Learners/ Call Number: PE1128 .T375 2012
Santillana Spotlight on English: Academic English for Success in Content and Literacy/ Call Number: PE1128 .S36 2008
English as a Second Language 6-8
Santillana Spotlight on English: Academic English for Success in Content and Literacy Call Number: PE1128 .S36 2008
Longman Keystone: Texas/ Call Number: PE1128.A2 W55 2010
Keystone/ Call Number: PE1128.A2 C532 2008
English for Speakers of Other Languages 9-12
Longman Keystone: Texas/ Call Number: PE1128.A2 W55 2010
Edge : reading, writing & language/ Call Number: PE1121 .E34 2009
English Language Proficiency Standards 9-12 Teacher's Editions
ELLevate strategies to support English language learners/ Call Number: PE1128.A2 E425 2011
Texas ELL resource : handbook for English language proficiency standards/ Call Number: PE1128.A2 T48 2009
Pre-K curriculum collections may include teacher's guides, Big Books, music CDs, DVDs, and hands on learning kits. Books and kits can be checked out individually. However, all items located inside kits must be checked out together and returned intact.
We can! : early childhood curriculum/ Call Number: LB1140.4 .G54 2010
Big day for PreK/ Call Number: LB1139.4 .C86 2011
Frog Street Pre-K/ Call Number: LB1140.4 F76 2010
The DLM early childhood express/ Call Number: LB1140.35.P53 D56 2011
The creative curriculum for preschool/ Call Number: LB1139.4 .B472 2010
Owl : opening the world of learning/ Call Number: LB1573 .D53 2012
Scholastic Guided Reading
The Scholastic Guided Reading Program is a cool instructional resource that supplements TEA-approved textbook series. It's not just for reading instruction ... there are hundreds of fiction, non-fiction, and Spanish-language books arranged by reading level that can be used as instructional tie-ins for math, science, and social studies.
Novels, biographies, picture books, and more come in sets of six for small group instruction so each student can have their own copy. Better yet, each title comes with a concise instructional guide for teachers.
A "Scholastic Guided Reading" title search in the library catalog pulls up a browsable list of available titles. You can also narrow the results by limiting the search to a keyword.
Games Collection
- Alkek Library Games CollectionHoused on the 3rd floor, many of the games cover the content areas but some are also leisure games. Other related games, not pictured below, include - Star power, Dixit, First Impressions, Mountaineering, Ogres & Elves, Let's Make Pizza, Ungame.
Websites
- Child Poverty FactsA series of reports from the National Center for Children in Poverty, Mailman School of Public Health of Columbia University, New York.
- ChildStats.govThe Official Web Site of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
- Child Trends DataBankFeatures up-to-date data and research on over 70 indicators of child and youth well-being, with new indicators added each month.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- Southern Regional Education Board (SREB) DataSREB works with Texas policymakers, colleges and schools to help them improve education.
- Urban Institute: EducationA nonprofit policy research organization in Washington, D.C. This page provides access to a number of online health-related press releases, periodicals, and publications.
- U.S.Census Bureau: ChildrenInformation about children is available from several data sources