Search Tips
Search by keywords and small phrases. Maximize your keyword searches with boolean searching.
- AND
- OR
- NOT
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases.
Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text or scholarly journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.
EDUCAT* will retrieve:
education, educate, educators, educator, educated, etc.
Try using Subject terms, which refers to synonym words/phrases.
Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalMulti-subject. World's largest collection of full text theses and dissertations. Contains 1.7 million full-text graduate works and 3.8 million abstracted or indexed records along with the ability to cross-search with other ProQuest resources. (1861-present). *
- Education SourceScholarly research in education & education-related social issues. All levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900-present.
- ERICEducation journals & documents (research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides & lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education). 1966-present.
- PsycINFOPeer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887-present.
- Picture Book DatabaseBibliographic information for 20,000 records of picture storybooks, beginning readers, and graphic formats. Find books by artistic media and style, character traits, literary devices, literacy tie-ins, genres, narrative formats, series, and characters, country of origin, and age ranges.
- Sociological AbstractsSociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psycholog. 1952-present. *
- Children's Literature Comprehensive DatabaseReviews for PreK-12 through young adult, professionals or parents. Search by genre, language, age, grade, title, author, illustrator, series, publisher, publication date, exact phrase, ISBN, & subject headings.
- Alexander Street Press: Education in VideoEvery student of education knows that reading about education theory in the abstract is a dramatically different experience than applying that knowledge in the classroom. Effective teaching delivery requires an in-depth understanding of expression, tone, body language, and other skills that can be difficult to glean from textbooks and theory alone.
* Not searched in Start Your Research
Citation Management
- EndNoteA citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research
- Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar
- Sync your EndNote Web to Desktop account
Alkek Library also has a Style Guide that covers APA as well as other citation styles.
