Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DIY Research: In-depth Research

Learning Objectives

Access databases, journals and other search systems available from the library’s website

Select appropriate databases for your research

Use effective techniques and strategies to improve search results

Rest Stop

clipartmojo.com

What do you like most about Alkek Library?

Rest Stop
I can check out up to 100 items: 3 votes (7.32%)
It is a quiet place to study: 17 votes (41.46%)
I can use online databases from anywhere: 13 votes (31.71%)
The friendly staff: 4 votes (9.76%)
The research guides available online: 4 votes (9.76%)
Total Votes: 41

Browse journals

Selecting a Database

When selecting a database for your research project, you may want to consider the following:

  • Read the database description to make sure that the subject areas and date coverage are appropriate.
  • Is full-text availability a priority? Check to make sure the database has full-text.
  • General databases may be a good place to start for less specific searches or background info.
  • Choose a subject database for more specific searches.

Alkek Library also has a variety of subject-specific research guides available that can point you in the right direction for books, databases, periodicals and more resources.


Keyword Searching